Design Stories #2

in #art6 years ago

This is in continuation to the previous post in which I discussed about the beginning of the design process. After some discussions with our mentor we formed design briefs according to our clients/requirements and then started with ideations. I faced some issues during ideation & at a point of time my mind was completely out of ideas. Anyway, after many 2-3 failed prototypes I arrived at making this one. There were some challenges like time crunch, lack of resources, etc.

I wanted to incorporate a water holder, palette, extra storage, brush holder in a single product so I arrived at this design which seemed to work out in the sketch. Next I tried a model with some thermocol sheet and canvas cloth.

IMG_2594EDIT.jpg

IMG_2590.JPG

IMG_2592.JPG

The triangular form seemed to be wasting a lot of space on the surface which could be put to some use. So I decided to give it a curved surface for the design to succeed. It took me around 5-6 trips to the old city side of Jaipur in order to give this a physical form. The old city is known for it's extremely skilled craftsmen and artists.

IMG_2006.JPG

IMG_2009.JPG

I chose copper as I wanted the rustic copperish look on my product. The master craftsman started building parts of the product and the what I really enjoyed was the interaction. It was a mix of smooth work flow along with some stressful situations. But being around them and seeing them turning my idea into reality was what felt awesome.

IMG_2018.JPG

IMG_2023.JPG

It started with building of the inner parts which I will explain in the next post. The copper sheet was of 20 gauge which was perfect according to the requirement. After soldering the parts, they washed the box and an outer frame with acid and gave it a final coat of tamarind juice which adds lustre to metal.

IMG_2027.JPG

I went ahead and got help with stitching the outer part which was made of rexine and complied the rest of the product. After it was done, I asked my client to use the product and later did a photoshoot of the same. I will explain the parts along with the pictures from the shoot in the next and final post.

IMG_2375.JPG

IMG_2377.JPG

IMG_2386.JPG

IMG_2387.JPG

Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

gave it a final coat of tamarind juice which adds lustre to metal.

Wow, had no idea that tamarind does this to metals. If it can make metals shiny then no wonder it makes sambhar tastes better! I now have the reason as to why sambhar is superior to your average dal. Wow.

Lol! I love how creative one can get with their responses :P
I am glad you found your purpose behind having sambhar @vedicsamurai :D

I really amaze to see this kinda of post on Steemit. I think this kinda post can save the future of Steemit. Great work @aishwarya

amazing work aishwarya, by the way are you from delhi?

Thanks! No, I not from Delhi. :)

Good box! And what's inside?

It's a small kit for watercolorists, you can see more about it here. :)
https://steemit.com/life/@aishwarya/design-stories-3

Thank you for answer, @aishwarya. I understand. It's a water tank. But why do need a lid?

The lid was supposed to be a way of preventing the water to seep out so that one could have all the supplies ready on the go.
But have to work that out in the next prototype.