Collecting value from my property, rock hunting and hand polishing stone.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

20181023_171954.jpg

Since i was a kid, I have always loved collecting rocks. I've learned to identify some over the years, and when i moved to the Ozarks, I was really excited to find what i had around me. Come to find out, there is a whole bunch around here!

20181023_171946.jpg

One of the most common stones are these cauliflower geodes. When cleaned, they have a brilliant white sparkle on their surface.

20181023_171844.jpg

Mozarkite, or Missouri Agate, is the state rock of Missouri. It varies in shades of pink and orange, all the way to deep reds, purples, and black.

20181023_171929.jpg

Lace agate is another common stone that varies in color, but has marble like veins through it. This variety i found has lots of different tones of natural quartz colors, alot of which are clear, white, and almost a marble appearance.

20190528_155028.jpg

20190528_155048.jpg

Using a small belt sander and a whetstone, I have been able to start polishing the faces of these rocks in preparation for jewelry. This week i plan to get a dremel and polishing wax to help speed up the process. Polishing stone, like blowing glass, takes time and patience, rushing it only leads to failure. Its an art form i am learning speaks to me deeply. During my time away from the internet, I learned that I really have just the moment that is in front of me, and i need to be keenly aware of that profound truth. Stones and glass have been giving me those lessons, and helping me reawaken the artist in me that i have kept from creating in a long while. Im glad i can find these right out my back door, and hope to come across some really nice crystals one day. Hope you are all well, thanks for stopping by!

~Doug~

TIBLogo

Sort:  

Congratulations @armadillocreek! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!