Color Etching - Art of the Day

in #art4 years ago (edited)

It's time to relax.

Whew! Finally, after a very tiring day yesterday (and the previous day!), it's time to slow it down a bit. Besides, it's Saturday.

I spent a few minutes re-doing my little lettuce and basil nursery. All the seedlings died a few days after they sprouted, perhaps due to very low light. Hubby @kennyroy added some extra lights and hopefully these will be enough for the plants to successfully grow indoors.

Color Etching/Scratching

Back to the arts!

Last night, Little Miss told me about her "Arts Idea", and actually wanted us to make it that time itself. I was able to buy a little time, and she finally agreed that we just do it today.

Her idea: color a piece of paper with different colors, and then cover it with black paint, then scratch. I immediately remembered the arts we did way back in gradeschool days which was very similar.

As promised, I sat down with her before lunch and did this short art session with her.

Materials:

  • white paper
  • crayons or oil pastel
  • toothpick

Lost Black Oil Pastel

I started with the colors above - - green, pink, red, yellow. As usual, I only had the concept but wasnt really sure how to execute. I just kept layering the colors until they got darker.

Lost black? Trust blue. Lol Well, since I (yup, me!) lost the black oil pastel, I used dark colors, hoping to compensate for black. In the end, of course, I still wasn't able to over the initial colors entirely.

Time to Etch

Err, what should I make? Up until this point, I still didn't know what end-result I really wanted to achieve.

So I just let the toothpick lead the way, of sorts.

I started with the leaf of the flower at the right-most end, then the grass, and the rest of the flowers. Classic. Haha.

Of course, with the flowers had to be bushes and trees, and rivers and mountains. Should we leave the skyline? Nope. Moon and stars cap the art.

Again, this is a very simple art work, but it gave me some time to keep to myself while still having to spend time with Little Miss at what she loves to do. Two birds with one stone for me.

How about you, how do you de-stress? How's the day going so far? I hope you get to do what you have to do, and get the rest you deserve!

Have a great day!

-Arlyn

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 11 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Yey! Thank you. :D

You and your hubby both are very talented.

Curated and reblogged by @ASEAN.Hive on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community.
⋆ ᴀ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ғᴏᴏᴅ, ᴛʀᴀᴠᴇʟ, ᴘʜᴏᴛᴏɢʀᴀᴘʜʏ, ᴘᴏʟɪᴛɪᴄs, ᴀʀᴛ, ᴍᴏᴠɪᴇ ʀᴇᴠɪᴇᴡs & ᴍᴏʀᴇ
⋆ sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ʜᴇʀᴇ
⋆ ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴏᴜʀ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ

Oh, thank you very much! <3

Ang ging naman 😎

Yung ngayon ko lang narealize na hindi ko pala na-update ang title. haha

cute cute ng drawing

image.png

Haha. Salamat. 😊