I didn't worry

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When I paint I often put quite a lot of pressure on myself to do a good job.  There's this voice in my head that tells me there's no room for failure and that I must make good paintings all the time if I ever want to succeed as an artist.  These unhelpful thought patterns really get to me at times and they can really take the joy out of the things I love so much.  

When I was a beginner artist, painting was very fun, but now that I'm serious about making art my business, painting can be stressful sometimes.  That reminds me of this quote from Edgar Degas: "Painting is easy when you don't know how, but very difficult when you do."



One evening I sat down and just wanted to paint something.  I looked through some reference photos and got inspired to paint this Basset Hound.  So I decided that I would paint this picture just for the fun of it and to please myself - not worry about making mistakes or the opinions of others.



By painting free of expectations and pressure, I was able to fully immerse myself in the moment and the calming of watching the paintbrush dance across the paper as I painted each layer.  It is a wonderful feeling when you are able to truly be in the "zone" while creating - there's nothing else quite like it.  I believe it to be healing for the mind and perhaps the soul, too.


I'm very happy with how this painting turned out, and I hope that I can train my brain to let me paint in peace more often!


Thank you for viewing/reading!  As always, upvotes, comments, and resteems are very much appreciated.

Sort:  

Even with their poor eyesight, dogs can still see better at night than humans do.

Congratulations @artbycheyenne! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @artbycheyenne! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!