Hand-carved Mala Beads for Meditation & Mindfulness... or Just to Look Awesome.

in #art6 years ago

Hey friends, I'm going to do a shameless plug for my new site: http://www.pineconewoodworks.com

I've been hand carving mala beads for a while now. Developing my skill and technique. I'm at the point where I think I can start selling some of my pieces.

Much more to come!

il_fullxfull.1493930793_1n8w.jpg

Red Cedar and Red Oak Yosegi Wrist Mala

Made from reclaimed red cedar and red oak. This mala was inspired by the Japanese art of Yosegi. Each piece of wood was thinly sliced vertically, glued into layers, thinly sliced horizontally and glued back in a criss-cross pattern. Then individually hand carved using a dremel tool.

After carving and finely sanding, each bead was finished using coconut oil, orange oil and beeswax. This gives it a mildly aromatic quality of cedar and orange.

The bead size is approximately 9.5mm with a total count of 17 beads strung on elastic beading rope.

https://www.pineconewoodworks.com/listing/584969360/red-cedar-and-red-oak-yosegi-wrist-mala

logo02.png