Ex Steemit Artist - new to Hive

in #art3 years ago

Hello Hive,

I used to be on Steemit for a while, then went inactive due to finishing my final year of education. When I came back, I realised that Steemit was no longer what it used to/intended to be. Even its subreddit was calling it dead.

So here I am on Hive, ready to start again... the whitepaper looks awesome and I have high hopes for this platform!

What content am I going to share on here?

Most likely visual stuff and art! Like this illustration I finished a week ago:

tendies banner.jpg

To be honest though, I don't want to treat this like another social media and spam art mindlessly. When I first looked at the front page, Hive content struck me for being a lot higher quality than most other platforms (web3 or web2). This post is pretty awesome and is the kind of content that I miss from most of the internet.

Something new?

I hope to share more thoughtful content here. Deep dives into the process, what resources and tools I use and other aspects that could help other creators who share the interest for creating visual content.

Why Hive?

Because 99% of social media reward memes, low effort and high frequency content, creating an environment where slower, high quality content ends up drowning with no traction, killing the incentive to share free to view, helpful content. Will my idea work on here? Only time can tell!

About the art:

Of course, one may wonder if I am a poser posting stolen art. This is my portfolio. You can find my contact email there. If you worry about me being an impostor, simply contact me and the same human will reply! (Unless my accounts get compromised and stolen - let's hope I don't do a terrible job at keeping stuff safe).
Also, if you want to see the art made in real time I regularly stream weekly! I really enjoy talking about crypto, blockchain and its applications (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ

Anyway, I am very new to this platform, so please be patient with this newbie and let me know if there is anything I should be looking for.
Peace!

Sort:  

Great decision, congrats & welcome here :) Steem is dead indeed, the vast majority of the active community moved here. Glad to have another great artist here, good luck and enjoy this place!

Thanks! Yeah I realised there was something wrong with Steem when its own subreddit called it dead and placed a poop icon on its logo... sad times indeed.

But honestly, this shows how awesome blockchain projects can be. You can them, but forks can revive them. Meanwhile in web 2.0, instagram becomes a sewer but no fork will ever come to save it...

Well said my friend, well said :) Here on Hive, there are no excuses, it´s only us, the community, who is responsible for what this place turns into. So far so good in my book, I love it here ;)

Welcome Back! 🤩

Beautiful work, looking forward to seeing more!

What was your account over on Steem? Did you want to get a “fresh start” here? I only ask because some folks are unaware that their Steem account carried over to Hive. If you had any balance in your dormant Steem account you may very well have some Hive waiting for you too.

If you do have any questions as you settle in, don’t hesitate to ask. I’d be more than happy to help!

Thanks! My steemit was this, not sure how one can transfer out balance (to Hive or some other wallet)
Thanks for the suggestion, would be nice to transfer the balance so that it does not go to waste

This is beautiful and welcome! :)

Hello @blueberry404, welcome to Hive :-)

Hello and welcome (back kind of)! That illustration looks phenomenal, I know you will excel here especially with your future plans of explaining the process and what you did.

I personally cant wait to see what else comes from you, good luck on your adventure and feel free to contact me if you have any questions! (I'm decently new too but I'll do my best to get you acclimated to the platform. 🙂

Sure thing and thank you! Still trying to get used to the platform (I read the whitepaper, but practice is another beast), I am looking forward to future posts :)

Welcome to Hive! I think your art is incredible and your consideration in making high-quality posts sharing your process and methods is a wonderful start! I think you are really going to like it here! On Chain Art is a great community, which i saw you are already in, and another one i would like to recommend to you is the Alien Art Hive Community.

You can read up more about the community and see this week's curation picks from artists of the Alien Art Hive here.

I would also recommend joining up with the NFT ShowRoom if you are interested in minting and selling your art! I think your art would do very well over there and you would fit in perfectly!

I'm not trying to inundate you with a bunch of links and information overload... but i am active in those spheres and am super excited about you being here and your art! Once again... welcome to HIVE and i wish you all the best here!

Thanks for the suggestion, will check out those platforms! Regarding NFTs, are there PoS platforms that people use? Also I am trying to see if there is a way to offer more than just "bragging rights" NFTs, as in something normal people (and not just whales) would actually buy and use.

For example, reference photo packs or other royalty free assets - artists often like those and find them useful, and I would be more than happy to offer them for an affordable price, assuming this pricing model could survive in the current market.

Thanks again and let me know if you'd like to chat here or Discord :)

The discord links to the NFT Showroom and Alien Art Hive are both available in that curation post link. Feel free to hit me up over there anytime or here. My name is the same in both spots ( @castleberry )

As far as PoS... NFT Showroom is built on the second layer of HIVE so you can just roll over some rewards into an account there and you will also get paid in HIVE. There is a little more to it which can be explained more fully in the discord. But it's pretty simple once you get the hang of it. It's super affordable to mint, buy, and sell your NFTs there.

NFT Showroom does have unlockables where you can add files or links accessible by only those that purchase the minted work. There are also two methods for selling the rights with limited distribution or to keep the rights privately yours and they just own the art. I think when people realize how cheap it is to mint, buy, and sell on the HIVE blockchain more artists will migrate on over! Also, once smart contracts are added i think we will probably see more NFT Art platforms on the chain as well.

I think Tezos, or XTZ, has a platform for NFTs as well as Cardano, or ADA, but i am not as familiar with their platforms or options when it comes to minting and such. The NFT market is weird when it comes to the million dollar shit art that gets sold. I guess art is subjective when it comes to value... but the technology providing verifiable provenance is really and truly an incredible gamechanger for the art world.

Sorry for the wall of text again... super excited to have another berry on here! hahaha

You made the right move. Steem is corrupted now and Hive is where there innovation happens. People are selling NFTs of their art using it. Have fun.

!BEER

Hello, @blueberry404

This is @fionasfavourites from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive and introduced yourself to the community - congratulations and welcome!

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities

Also since you're new, you may run into an RC (Resource Credits) error when trying to comment/post because you don't yet have enough Hive in your account yet. For assistance with a temporary delegation to get you started, be sure to check out the Gift Giver site.

Also, as this the hive can be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide is a growing repository of useful – easy to understand – posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

If you have questions, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server and we'll do our best to answer them, and again welcome to Hive!

Welcome to hive.

Here is an article to get you started on hive https://leopedia.io/hive/
If you get some free time, feel free to explore the hive guide tutorial. It's a bit lengthy but worth watching. https://thehiveguide.com/

Feel free to ask around or even DM for any questions. :) Welcome again.

& Why Hive?

because it is a community fork of steem, and we are trying to spread good content. Community is good helping and developing hive. There isn't a sole leader/CEO. & System is sustainable if you provide value. :)

Hello and welcome to HIVE, @blueberry404 !

I am a video game developer (the one of EXODE space game ), I mention this to help you notice who got interested in your profile!

Mostly I wanted to say:
Warm welcome to you!

From what I could check on your portfolio, you are very good! and I can't wait to see what will come up of your arrival on HIVE.

On my side, I will be very interested in discussing upcoming projects.

2021 is an immense year for art and game projects on blockchain. If you are interested, you could still come up to our Discord, when I am not making a developer sprint I take a break with the community. These days I won't be much available but feel free to drop me a DM (I am Elindos Phar there) so that we can keep in touch and you tell me more about your situation.

Congratulations again for being an artist, congratulations again for being on HIVE - this is the place to be :)

Edit: I sent you a private message on Artstation!

Welcome! Your illustration is gorgeous. What a talent