You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Making of My Recent Tommy Hearns Illustrations and Thoughts on Process

in #art3 years ago

Thanks @steevc! Interestingly enough there was less sketching of ideas than normal. Since it was five pieces all in a bit of a montage style I did rough sketch each individual element, but then I simply started putting them together like collages! I cut & pasted, resized etc. until I had pleasing compositions but pretty much every initial element I had drawn found its way into one of the pieces with very little redrawing, just extra detailing. That’s a big benefit of the digital work vs. doing multiple compositional sketches for each illustration!

Sort:  

Digital tools must help a lot, but then it's something different to paper. It definitely seems to work for you.