Bloom - Thriving or Disintegrating?

in #art6 years ago

20180101_190826.jpg
I finally finished coloring this beautiful work of art by Bennett Klein from his book "Bloom..."
611tTUnla2L._SL1500_.jpg
Available here for a reasonable price:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1979564035/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1514852337&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=bloom+bennett+klein&dpPl=1&dpID=611tTUnla2L&ref=plSrch

When I saw this piece, I wondered, as the title of this post implies, if it was thriving or disintegrating. And my conclusion is a little of both. That is why I made the "blood" part deep plum/ wine colored and the rest significantly more vibrant.

I used almost all colored pencils on this, tortillion stumps to blend and gel pens for the flower's center & bit of sparkle.

I'd love to hear your interpretation of this. It is my original coloring by the artist Bennett Klein from his coloring book, "Bloom."
ecsheader1.jpg

Sort:  

For me it is thriving. It has an almost human form the deep plum colour showing its connection to the earth from which it has burst forth. The lilac petals are opening to receive the light.

Nice interpretation. I also got a human vibe from it.

It is a perpetual upvote for the life of the next.

Well that's an interesting take on it

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chelsea88 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks OW bot!

Those colors are spectacular!

Thank you

It's a purple people eater plant.

Must be it!! 🐻

wow, that's beautiful, your work motivates me to start digital art again but I'm a lazy artist.

Thanks, you should pick it up again. This is good old colored pencil coloring here not digital tho. 😊

Love the colors and forms. Purple is my favorite. What I thought of is that the most important part of the plant is that located in its heart. That is what carries the life. The forms will change and shift according to purpose and season but the heart will complete its purpose. Nice.

Profound! Thanks for the comment.

Was trying not to sound like a facebook meme. :) they get on my nerves

You didn't =)