"Geraniums" oil painting (unfinished - update post)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It's been 18 days since the last update of this painting, an oil on linen, 30"x36."

I'm finding this project to be very interesting and challenging since it is a new approach in my oil painting experience. I've been doing basically the same procedure with large sheet watercolors for many years, but I only recently started working with oil paint again and never before in this way.

Additionally, I'm "getting up to speed" with handling and mixing oils after not touching them for about ten years (I was working with watercolors during that time). I'm finding it a bit of a struggle but I'm making good progress. I expect the work to flow much more as I continue.

After many years of working exclusively from life with oil paint under time pressure, I'm accustomed to working much faster - or shall I say, spending much less time on one painting to complete it - so my impulse is to want to rush. I'm fighting that because I'm aiming for something much different now: a more thought out, "finished" painting in a very large (for me) format, allowing myself to take all the time I need.

I've been focused primarily in the central area of the canvas, trying my best to complete each area as I go. As I work, I refer to the photo reference on my computer and a 1/4 size oil study.

I have a lot more work to do on this canvas. I may need the rest of 2018 for all I know. I'm prepared to take as much time as necessary to get what I want, however. A canvas this size, with this working method, takes a lot of orchestrating, fine tuning, and careful, accurate painting. I refuse to give in to my impatience though! The irony is that I want the final result to look as though it was effortlessly done.

I hope you enjoyed this peek into my process of creating a large painting.

Stay tuned for more progress updates!


"Happiness: the full use of your powers along lines of excellence."

- John F. Kennedy

My website: Seebach Fine Art


Sort:  

Damn nice !! will learn so much from following your blog ! thank you

Thanks very much @vibvir Glad you like it.

Thanks for sharing flowers very nice

@richardalom You're welcome and thank you.

its beautiful and really amazing to see very nice art work :)

Dear Artist @chessmonster ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Thank you very much @fineartnow

How come I haven't found you before :-o??? Your palette is inspirational!

@onicreative Don't know, but glad you found me now! Thanks!

Coming together very nicely! I'm not the painter, of course, so you'd probably do well to ignore me, but I would leave the centre of the painting alone now.

Thanks very much @ocrdu I'm still tweaking the center, but I do think it's looking fine so far.

beautiful photo