A Digitally Painted Fanart of "Moana"!

in #art6 years ago

Getting into art!

So recently I bought myself a Wacom tablet, and I've been using it every single day for a few months now. It's so much fun to experiment with! I've been doing a lot of cartoony drawings but one of my better works is this fanart I did of Moana.

See, I was a little behind on the bandwagon of Moana fans and I only saw it recently. That being said, it was an amazing movie and I just couldn't get it out of my head for the longest time.

So I drew her!
Character art.png

Obviously it needs some work and it's fairly obvious a beginner made it, but I'm proud anyways!

Supplies I used to make the painting:

  • Krita -- A free drawing software designed for artists. It's worked for me thus far, and I like it!
  • My new Wacom tablet -- Wacom seems to me like the industry standard for drawing tablets. There's no way I could have done this with a mouse!
  • The Moana Movie -- this was a fanart, after all :)
  • Three terrible practice sketches -- It took the third try for me to feel like the proportions were even close to how I wanted the style to be!

The Sketch

Originally I was going to just leave this piece as a sketch. I was doing this challenge where you set an alarm for 15 minutes for the first sketch. Plenty of time to finish.
Then for the second sketch you lower it to 10 minutes. Still enough time to get something good down

And for the third sketch, you give yourself only 5 minutes. Wew. A little tight.
It's supposed to help you loosen up your drawings and get better at sketching. I highly recommend the challenge, it's alot of fun!

No way can I pull up the courage to show you all three sketches, but I will show you the one I settled on which was #2. The timer for this one was set to 10 minutes. It's pretty terrible but I kind of liked it :)
moana sketch.png
Receding hairlines galore ;)

Sort:  

Congratulations @craori! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @craori! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @craori! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @craori! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!