Progress of an artwork - "HKH" - A multi-dimensional piece about Life & Death

in #art7 years ago




Lifecycles

This "painting" I am showing you today is one of my few 3-dimensional works I did when I was a student of Architecture more than 10 years ago. I produced this one in the beautiful project/lab 'city' of Arcosanti in the high desert of Arizona. The awesome and ancient landscape around me inspired me to work on several profound pieces within a period of a year.

This one here is about the neverending cycle of life & death and portraits some kind of demon, representing this eternal principle of the universe. It began like a puzzle with so many different pieces coming together. I used almost everything I could find or build around me to fill the empty wood frame. I hope you enkoy the progress pics...I had to dig deep to find them...:-)



 

"It is the secret of the world that all things subsist and do not die, but retire a little from sight and afterwards return again."

ralph waldo emerson 







Laying down the first elements of the painting




I used clay and fimo for the 3-D forms




Some elements are printed on foil




A puzzle without a template...




...but it got solved after 3 months of work




Detail of the finished piece






At the end I poured several layers of resin on the piece




The effect in direct sunlight






"Holographic Krsna Holocast" | mixed media | 80cm x 120cm




 

"Life asked death, 'Why do people love me but hate you?' Death responded, 'Because you are a beautiful lie and I am a painful truth."

unknown 





Upvoting & resteeming makes me happy and keeps my art alive :-)

For more information about my art please visit denniskonstantin.com



Sort:  

Eyeorgasmicmindblowed!

@denniskonstantin This piece reminds me of one of my most inspiring shamanic journeys. Specifically the parts where I explored the interwoven fabric of existence.

Thank you for sharing this, brilliant being :)

My pleasure...:-)

Thank you so much for sharing this phantasmagoric piece and your process. Mindblowing.

Thank you for looking at it ;-)

Stunning! It leaves me speechless!

Thanks Otto :-)

Thanks for the contribution ;-)...that is very true!