Demon Face Self Portrait 6: How to Expose Your Inner Demon

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Of course you've always wanted to see what your inner demon looks like. Here's how you summon its image.

Thank you to @sunravelme for the idea to document the process that I use to transform my face in these self portraits. It's really pretty much the same as putting on makeup in the morning :)

First, photocopy your face. I try to make as strange and grotesque an expression as I can. Make 50, why not? When your boss asks why there's drool all over the copy machine, just tell her the exorcist is on the way.
20170908_154354.jpg

Next, let that face tell you what kind of demon it is. You'll have to look deep in it's 2-dimensional soul. What features of this face will be easy to manipulate? What features will look cool left close to their original form?
20170908_154551.jpg

Now take an eraser to it & let yourself be creative & open to the strange & unusual. Lighten the already light areas and see if they look like anything. Horns? Tentacles? Warts? Fangs? A crown? Beard? A terminator eye? Really scrub what you decide will be your highlights, you want them as light as possible for colors & shiny spots to really pop against all this dark area.
20170908_155220.jpg

I like to use a light grey marker to start sketching in shadows and lines to give my new features form. Grey is not too big a commitment & if I do something I don't like, once I'm using black it is easy to correct. I've been meaning to try scales for a while; I really like big ol' ugly boils.
20170908_160742.jpg

Slap on an outline in black & color in the page around it. Demons don't usually wear white office shirts with bits of lace & pearly buttons... Or do they... Start to add darker lines around your new features & block them in. Don't add too much black, many of the finer details can be added with color & texture next.
20170908_162855.jpg

Get some crappy markers & go to town! Always wanted a hellish pink sheen? Now's your time! Prefer a more purple pimple? Go for it! Always wanted weird fin things sticking out of the sides of you face? They look GREAT! I usually start with my base color, pink here, then add shadows (which I did in light purple). Then I added a few highlights with a yellow highlighter. Let some of the white bits remain, they'll look like shine & it's easy to overwork your paper doing these.
20170908_164540.jpg

Coloring may be my favorite part; don't be shy, get weird. Lots of layers help enhance your luciferous luster. In true Demon-Self-Portrait style, I finished my work after the cruel sun went down. So we'll miss a few of the "in-between" progress shots 'cause the light was poor & jump straight to the final product:

scaled demon.jpg

I can't wait to see your ugly mugs... in hell lol ;)

Sort:  

It's a really cool picture.
Atmosphere, color, look is the best.
I think that it dominates the sea.

This post is upvoted with 80-100% VP by the minnows group account @rougebot.

bkasia215093_final.jpg

FOR MORE DETAILS READ THIS POST -
https://steemit.com/rouge-bot/@rougebot/repost-help-powering-me-or-or-creating-a-group-of-minnows-to-support-each-other

I think I have some copies to run off next time I'm at work.
You're a Murloc!

Ha! You are absolutely right! I had to Google it first... weird!

That is so cool! I have to figure out how to use the scanner when no one is looking.... I can't imagine explaining that to my co-workers O.o

Just tell them that if they copy their faces, you'll demonize them too :D

@dillemma this is terrific, really terrific. I am not sure if you realize what you are doing here but you have managed to break your soul up into pieces and capture it in these demon face self portraits. This is very interesting to me, it is kind of like you figured out how to turn a steak into a steak AND some bbq ribs with a side of demon face.

Do me a favor and arrange five of these demon face self portraits around youreself in a roughly pentagonal fashion and say my name three times. If you can coax your first born son willingly into your arms while you do this I would be over the moon. As a token of good faith I am going to send you 666 POCKET. As you can see, I am clearly a trustworthy individual. Cheers - your new friend and admirer - Beelzebub

What an honor & delight to meet you, I think... ;D And thank you very much for the gift! Please don't tell my mom I accepted anything from you. She'd really never get over it.

Whoa you are trending on the main art page! This post is awesome - was happy to watch Thing One and Thing Two while you made the art and wrote the post! Elephant shoes

Behind all great work is a great support team! Ask Lightning McQueen! Ugh.. or don't. I never want to see that movie again <3

pocketsend:666@dillemma, let's make some memories!

Successful Send of 666
Sending Account: beelzebub
Receiving Account: dillemma
New sending account balance: 999334
New receiving account balance: 1000665
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 9f0a951b1227d7ccf3b1d6fb528f6a30db3bc0ff
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

Whoa! Thanks @beelzebub!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dillemma to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Really crazy
but beautiful

Just like me ;D lol (thank you)

This is really cool @dillemma, I love to see the process. I wish I could do a self-portrait but I'm anonymous!

Check out my first post if you get the chance, would love to be in touch with fellow skilled artists. 🖌🖼🖊🖍🌁

Below is one of mine!

Copy of De La Fontaine, 2016.jpg

This is lovely :) I love coral & you've done a really nice job adding texture with the radiating lines <3

OMG its so Awesome !,upvoted !!! 💖💖

Ill be happy if you would check my work of drawing ^ ^
https://steemit.com/@cuteve

You're piece is amazing! So smooth! Thank you for sharing!

Sure ^ ^ Thank you so much <3

Oh, very nice. Thanks for sharing the process.

Thanks for taking a look! :)

Ha! I love this!

Awesome! Thank you!

Wow this is fucking amazing!

Hey! Thank you! It really does mean a lot to me :)

If it's not too much trouble are you willing to do me?

That'd be fun & I'd love to. It may take a bit to finish 'cause my life is crazy but send me your photocopied face!

Oh must it be photocopied? I don't have access to one lol.

How about this? I feel like I am already a demon here. Look at my shadow!

A very good photo! I feel like someone with photoshop skills could easily demonize that shadow :)

Haha looking forward to whoever can do it then.

That's amazing! Very cool to see the transformation.

Hey thank you! :D

Really courageous - creating something so visceral and terrifying - there is that part of all of us. upvoted you

People tend to think I'm really sweet & nice... It's actually the best thing to hear "visceral & terrifying". Thank you.

This looks really cool, hope mine doesn't scare the devil himself :)

I hope you do it & I hope it DOES scare 'im & then I hope you share it here!!

Hahaha I will try it

This idea you had for the portrait is really amazing! and the final work is great, I will try to do mine, would like to see my art too? please let me know what do you think https://steemit.com/art/@gabocarranza/my-drawings

Wow! That is so creativity, @dillemma
Keep up the good work.

Thanks very much for the positive note! I'll keep it up!

You are welcome.

Congratulations @dillemma!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 4 with $ 109,17

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


@carlgnash got you a $1.55 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@carlgnash got you a $1.55 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Congratulations @dillemma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dillemma! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm kind of annoyed I don't have access to a photocopier, library maybe lol? This is super!

Wow fantastic post! I am glad I have been introduced to your work!! I love seeing your process and I love the theme of this piece. You are really talented and your artworks are very interesting and have their own style that is uniquely yours :-)

This is awesome and totally brave of you :D. Not many women would transform their face into a demonic fish monster, but the result is totally worth it ... providing that you don't turn into one as well in real xD.