The Coffee Witch: A black and white cafe drawing to meditate in a busy week.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A section of my latest black and white piece inspired by coffee:

sept6thumbnail.jpg

The entire piece.
sept6coffeewitch.jpg

I have decided with my black and white pieces to offer them up with font and wording. I love to do my black and white drawings and I also love product design and I find they go rather well together.

This Coffee Witch says what we all feel most mornings.

sept6coffeewitchtee.jpg

And even though this was my actual coffee whilst sketching and designing this piece at the cafe yesterday.
sept6coffee.jpg

I was actually considering my own favourite cup often enjoyed at home on my terrace.
aug15coffee.jpg

And that design, often referred to as Blue Willow, inspired this version of the Coffee Witch in Blue and White.

sept6coffeewitchblue.jpg

This has been a particularly hectic week for me.

In fact, I hope to return to daily posting again when I finally see the tail end of this week. This time of the year, end of Summer, is often one of my busiest. It is no wonder, then, that my increase in my black and white drawings has occured.

I've also said in the past that when I do these type of drawings they are a sort of meditation for me. I decided years ago that each day would have drawing in it. I also decided that I'd like a piece done each day, even if that means simply capturing a study in watercolour or framing out a sketch in colour to feel it is a piece in and of iteself.

Often these 'pieces' are part of a larger piece, requiring much more time to finish, but that feeling of 'done' has become important to me. So, when faced with a week like this: with much art to do, some deadlines, dealing with my two rental cottages; the desire to finish a thing and also feel I'm in my calm place is pretty important.

I am happy that art can be both an occupation and a place in which to escape.

I certainly don't mean it isn't hard work or can be very frustrating, but I also know it is and can be an escape from the rush of life or the stress of the modern world.

Art has always been that escape for me.

Drawing has been a part of me since before I could write. In wanting to convey stories as a child the pictorial path seemed the only way and it simply stuck with me as I learned to read and write. Even now, my art work is first 'story' for me.

Now, another thing that has been weighing on me as well as taking up some time, yet not getting enough of that rare commodity, is my website. It sits idle offline whilst I take stabs at it here and there. My hope was to move most of my product sales (prints, house wares, clothing) to it through various makers. However, it has not been done, so in the meantime I need to continue to add and update things to Society6.

There are quite a few sites like this that allow artists to sell their wares and I am thinking of actually using more of them before I finish up my site. I have had some pretty good success with society6 and even other's who have bought my fine art and prints have used it to get my things on bags, curtains, etc.

It was an easy choice, then, this morning to take my Coffee Witch and give her some words and place her on some things. And I rather think she works pretty good for that, don't you?

You can Check out the various items with the Coffee Witch on them Here

sept6coffeewitchproducts.jpg

I'm actually amazed at the things they are beginning to add, even furniture like sideboards and benches and things. And they now offer wallpaper, which I think is great, as I was trying to find a source for that.

Well, enough of that, I need to post my daily art here and I hope you enjoy it.

I hope your day isn't too busy and if it is that you can find your respite and zen moment. We all need a pause and a breath each day.

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts.


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @donnadavisart. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Jointhis awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

Love just love your B&W drawings , they are everything and not only b&w @donnadavisart :)

Thank you @jungwatercolour. I know I couldn't help the blue and white. I love blue and white pottery and china so good old digital art allows us to play with our design in every colour of the rainbow!

Your art is so beautiful, love your black and white designs... and well I'm all in for this kind of romantic almost vintage designs... plus there is an additional allure....
coooofffeeeeeeee

Exactly, Who hasn't had this sentiment of a morning, right? :)

I have the coffee sentiment in the afternoon and evenings too ;-) hahah :)

Es una trabajo hermosísimo, te felicito, me encanta. I love it.
Congratulations its pretty.
Greetings from Venezuela
Por tu publicación...
¡GRACIAS!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

A fabulous design!
I wish my hair looked as good as the coffee witch's hair in the morning- takes me at least 2 coffee's before i can tame the birds nest on my head.

I hear you, my morning hair is always an interesting tangle as well :)

Your terrace is amazing. And what a fine inspiration coffee truly is!

Sometimes I need that first cup before I can even think straight of a morning!

Oh how I know that feeling!

Coffee!!! The nectar that fuels us every day. I could use it in an IV right now. I love the way the shadows fall from the cup in your drawing. It gives depth and creates form.

Thank you. I really love doing these stylized two tone drawings they are fun and also a bit zen in their making.

oh, i love this, donna !!! the patterning is incredibly detailed <3 and your inking style is super nice, as usual, as stark as they are clean * ___ * ... and aaaah i love the final look of this piece, it works so well as a design <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much @veryspider! I love and collect antique china patterns so I can be obsessed with patterning sometimes. If there is such a thing as a 'housewares nerd' then I'm it :)

This is so elegant and your attention to detail is stunning. I have some of my artwork up on Redbubble but I've always been curious to branch out to other sites, so I might join you on society6 XD

You should do! I need to beef up my redbubble and I've noticed a few other sites people here use that I am considering. I decided even with the continual work on my own site, it'd be silly to not have the work out there on as many sites as I can :)

your art is so beautiful and imperfectly perfect and most importantly its your meditation that's what makes your sketch so lethal. keep the good work and hope you will get more time in future have a nice day @donnadavisart

Thank you so kindly.

wow great design. I loved it so much!

I love your designs! they are dreamed! What a great job!

Thanks a lot :)

I love yor art...it's amazing .. You can't imagine your art is the most successful art..thank you

You can't imagine your art is the most successful art

Can I try? ;)

This is very nicely done, Donna. I love the concept and how excellently you executed the idea. It looks polished enough that I feel it can be used as a store logo or icon ^_^.        
                         
It's kinda cute that her cloth's pattern is the same with the coffee mug as well :).          
                       

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It's beautiful, she looks like she's enjoying a cup of coffee, even if it's inside the cup. But it is very charming.
It's great that your drawings are in various articles.

mmmhm more Coffee! Drink it black too... I like how you mix things up style-wise ;)

You really have a great talent - a nice sense of contrast and detail. Well done.