Recent work and a note about self-portraits...

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Since the beginning of the new year, my art has become very morbid.

And it's been faced with less than satisfactory responses from the people closest to me. For good reason, since through my art, you'd probably assume I'm having a mental breakdown.

But really, that's not the case. In fact, I've been happier recently than in a long time. I'm certainly as aimless as always and the constant disappointment with adulthood has yet to subside, but that's bothering me less these days.

A self-portrait is intended to unearth deeper emotions in the artist though. In some ways, it's more of a type of therapy than anything else. I never know quite what I'm going to draw or why. So at the end of almost any drawing I'm generally left with something that feels very alien to me. Maybe deep down, I am holding shit together with elastic bands and tape. Maybe I do feel a need to cut my ties or be exposed or maybe I really just want to shave my head. I really couldn't tell you. This, to me, is the beauty of taking the time to draw yourself as egocentric as it seems.


If you want to see more of this style of work that I've been making, you can check out this post.

Please feel free to give me any thoughts and any critiques.

Thanks,

Melissa

Sort:  

Hey, welcome back!

thanks! hopefully I'm contributing something interesting.

nice sketch and note :)