doodle of me drawing within a drawing in my friend's living room (my favorite drawing exercise and how to do it!!)

in #art7 years ago (edited)



Hey steemit here's a drawing I did this morning in my friend shamals apartment before we headed out to explore the last day of artscape. I did the drawing in his living room over the course of an hour or so I believe.

This is a drawing exercise for building pen control, understanding 3d space and perspective. The exercise goes as follows, sit down with a pad, stare at a point in front of you that's your 1 point perspective vanishing line. I start by drawing my hands and the rectangle of the paper to give me a good size reference, for instance if I draw the sketchbook and it's width is 1/4 of the page then I can use that as a mental ration when looking at another object. So if I look over at a chair in the background and it's 3/4 the width of the sketchbook I'm holding, then I know to draw that chair smaller than my sketchbook, it's not exactly but by doing this every once in awhile and being very honest when you critique yourself, you're able to fine tune this mental range and do so with more and more ease

Hope that was somewhat helpful, I think I'll end up doing a video on this topic because it is hard to explain but invaluable to any young illustrator/artist, let me know what you guys think

Sort:  

Loved the intricate details in your drawing. Hope to see more such post from you.

wow that is just amazing!

That's awesome! I love the style. Thanks for sharing!

Your style caught my eye just flicking through the Steemit tags. Upvoted, followed and I look forward to seeing more of your work :)

This post received a 3.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gavicrane! For more information, click here!

I looooove this o.o

For people who are beggining and want to try this you can make some blind contour exercises to give you more confidence and fluidity. Also if its hard at first to translate the room to the paper you can use a visor to isolate the parts you want to draw. :)

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :)

love the Doodle!

Daaw-ception...lol