DIY Wooden Apple Pencil Case Without Spending Any Money

in #art6 years ago

Good day fellow steemians, last month I bought an Apple Pencil for my Ipad Pro. Ever since I bought it I will just throw it inside my bag everyday whenever I go to work. It always bothers me because it might break anytime inside my bag so I decided look for a apple pencil case online, but it's quite disappointing because a simple pencil case costs for more than $30 and some for more than $100. I don't want to spend that amount of money for just a simple pencil case. Why buy if you can make?

So I decided that I will just make one for myself, but the goal here is to not spend any money and it should be stylish but durable at the same time. I documented everything, so here is my story on how I created my stylish Apple Pencil without spending any money.

I went to a nearby wood working shop to ask for some left over wood and the owner is so kind that he just given me these 3 mahogany wooden planks for free.
1.jpg

2.JPG

I started sanding it with a sand paper that I found at our garage. Then I traced some lines which I will boar a hole the same size as the apple pencil, this will be the middle part of the pencil case.
4.JPG

3.JPG

Using my father's electric drill I put holes to the wood,
7.JPG

6.JPG

then with a cutter and a chisel I refined it even more.
8.JPG

Sanded it so that there will be no rough edges and splinters inside.
9.JPG

The middle part is almost done now so its time for the bottom part. I modified my apple pencil after I bought it, I put sticker, pen rubber and a cap holder to add protection.
28722419_10208691309318548_851900317_n.jpg

Using a chisel I made bevels in to the wood so that the apple pencil will fit inside the case perfectly.
10.JPG

I glued the bottom and the middle part together.
11.JPG

Clamped everything then I let it dry for 24 hours.
12.JPG

The next day.

This is how it looked like when the bottom and the middle part is combined together.
13.JPG

The last remaining wood plank will be the cover, I decided to use magnets so that it will have a perfect snap when the pencil case is closed. Luckily I found this magnet, it came from my broken cellphone holder inside my car.

Using a small chisel I made bevels in both sides of the wood.
16.JPG

Placed the magnets permanently with epoxy.
17.JPG

I can't find more magnets so I just put 2 metal screws for the magnets in the cover to snap properly in place. I will replace it in the future when I have magnets that will fit into the wood but for now this will work.
20.jpg

When everything is in place it's time to do more sanding.
18.jpg

I found this wood stain at our garage, this will be perfect for this project because I want my pencil case to be as authentic as possible and I want to showcase the wood's texture and wood grain.
21.jpg

Using a paper towel I coated the wood with wood stain.
22.jpg

This is how it looked like when it's dried up. I'm very happy with the result, the wood stain made it look like it is an expensive wood. It also adds shine into it.
23.jpg

I've decided to put hinges so that I will never loose the cover of my pencil case. I got these 2 hinges from my old chess board.
24.jpg

I screwed it in to the wood.
28535595_10208691636406725_44581690_n.jpg

It is almost done at this point. I want my pencil case to be personalized so I carved my name at the cover using a razor blade. Then I put another layer of wood stain to make it darker.
28535625_10208691673167644_98808706_n.jpg

LAST STEP!!!

Finally I rub it with linseed oil from my old painting materials to add gloss into the wood. This process will also make the wood resistant to water.
P_20180303_193942.jpg

The long wait is over, this is how it looks like now it is finished.

TA DAH..... :D

26.jpg
25.jpg
27.jpg28.jpg

I'm very happy with the outcome of this project, this just proves that you can create something unique and beautiful without spending any money at all.

For me this is not just a simple pencil case, this is a work of art.

I hope you like it guys. More DIY posts soon! Thank you!

Please upvote and follow me.
@geneson.garcia

Sort:  

That was such an amazing project. You are great at this. Really impressed. Resteemed! :)

Thank you so much!

Let's make something new.

Congratulations @geneson.garcia!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 5 with $ 85,92

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, feel free to vote for my witness! You can do it here or use SteemConnect

Have you ever considered starting an Etsy store?

This is exactly what I was thinking. What amazing creativity!!!

Amazing craft! Im so proud of you!

The end product turned out really well.

Wow sir, good job! amazing work, very original. Upvoted and Followed you.

Wow, amazing work @geneson.garcia. It's great to see you crafting. I look forward to more in the future from you :D

Waw what a great idea

Great! Well done project. I also love doing DIYs and it feels good when someone appreciates it.

Very well done.

wow, just wow. diy is so fulfilling and cost friendly if you have the patience, skills and the tools. great job. :)

Now that is creativity and resourcefulness. Good job sir @geneson.garcia