A Little Perspective On Displacement

in #art6 years ago

untitled.15.jpg

I Am Just Pushing It

I have spent years doing all types of concept art that explores architecture. For most buildings, it comes down to a lot of work to model out not only the basic shapes but also the fine details. Not that I am lazy but all of this stuff takes a lot of time and feeback does not always come clearly. Sometimes I like to use displacement maps to create things instead. It can produce powerful results.

untitled.14.jpg

###The Black & White Of It ###

This is essentially a process where I to various greyscale images that I made and transformed them into the buildings. The building was made from 2 cubes and a cylinder.

untitled.12.jpg

untitled.13.jpg

untitled.19.jpg

There is a lot more to do on these before I would present them to a client as a complete concept model including textures and lighting. But for now I tought I would show you my progress.