Pabu the red panda

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_2018-01-02-23-08-03.png

Hi steemians! This is my first post here on steemit, I hope you guys would like this cute little mammal that I drew digitally.

I want you to meet Pabu the red panda.
Well if you're watching the animated cartoon "The Legend of Korra" then I know that name would really ring a bell.
Pabu is the pet/sidekick of the sidekick character "Bolin" in the show, so we can call pabu the sidekick of sidekick (haha).
Pabu's job is pretty much like just hanging around and doing some "cute" job, I think that's his major role.. i guess. But sometimes he can be pretty useful too like acting as a diversion or distraction.

I liked the fact that a red panda was included in a show that a lot of kids and even grown ups like me would watch. We all know that Red pandas (scientific name: Ailurus fulgens) are on the list of endangered mammals and putting them on that cartoon would bring awareness to all of us that they exist, with the fact that their cuteness is unparalleled (for me haha), and they needed our help. For me, that simple act of putting red panda to a famous cartoon is already a big help for their conservation, and I'm hoping that other show would do the same.

How I did it?
Gadget: Samsung tab S
Application used: Sketch (no stylus used)

Among the sketch applications on google play, I can specifically recommend Sketch because it has unique features that you can't find on other apps like layering and mixing colors.
I cant really show you guys the step-by-step pictures because I just recently reformatted my tab, but I got some screenshots on my progress.

Screenshot_2017-11-09-16-52-19.png

Drawing needs patience, patience, and patience. Every single fur is a single pencil stroke so you can stroke it randomly if you're tired already. But the best technique that you can do is to draw lines as your guide on the direction of each hairstrand so the fur would look realistic.

Screenshot_2018-01-02-16-05-31.png

As you can see here, the background is still blank. I made the background as separate layer for me to easily insert it or change it without messing up the pabu.

Please follow me if you liked my work.
Btw I am new here so I would really appreciate it if you vote this one and my future posts.
Thanks :)

Sort:  

Your work looks fine. Indeed, draws need a lot of patience :)

Irina V.

Thanks Irina! I would like to see your works as well :)

Your red panda is great. All that fur! Fur is such a labor of love. You did an awesome job of diversifying the color of your strokes which really helps to create some beautiful shades in the coat. Keep it up. I look forward to more of your works.

The eyes cant see what the mind doesn't know. Thank you for noticing those color strokes :)) feels good to hear it.

its actually really good! those fursss

Thank youuuu! Much appreciated. Hope you'll follow me back :))

i love it!

Thank you :)))

So cute Pabu. Awesome work!

Thank you :)

You are a true artist @irvinov

Im just starting to draw digital arts, its still a learning process. Thanks :))