My journey so far

in #art7 years ago

Practice makes perfect.

I have probably heard this phrase about a million times by now but I was too stubborn to listen. I was the type of kid that hated to practice for something and saw practicing as something like a chore. I guess now looking back at it, it is whas a kids/teenager thing.

Don't practice untill you get it right. Practice untill you can't get it wrong.

I was the type of "artist", if I can call myself one, that always said things like:

  • Who needs circles?
  • Who needs anatomy?
  • I can look and draw the same exact picture without sketching.

I think we have either said this ourselves or heard it from others.

You don't have to practice every day..... Just the days you eat!

Ofcourse you dont have to practice every single day and especially not with art because of artist block, but an example of this is a drawing I did 4 years ago. I never practiced anything, I didnt draw very often but I was soo happy because in my eyes it was PERFECT, AMAZING, THE NEXT MONA LISA just... simply... MAGNIFIQUE!!
first.png

I know it looks like him but there are no proportions what.... so... ever!! (yes you can roast the drawing in the comments. I would love to see some.) This is Nagato a character that basicly wants to whipe out the world because of the hatred in it and you probably were able to guess so. But mine looks more scary than the original. This is probably one of my favourite characters as for design but also for development. One of my personal favourite quotes of him is: "We are just ordinary people driven to revenge in the name of justice. But if revenge is called justice, then that justice breeds yet more revenge and becomes a chain of hatred."

Plan, Prepare and Perform

A few studies later and just a bit more common sense. I'am here still studying the art of anatomy and made sketching mandatory. I can't start a sketch without thinking of the final product and I cant finish the final product without a sketch.
SKETCHPRODUCT.png

I can still see points of improvement but it isnt as noticable as a few years ago. I'am still learning and I'am proud on how far self teaching got me. My goal is to motivate people to do start things and finish them, especially if it is something you are passioned about. My dream is to one day make a living out of this. Doing art for people is what I love.

Tell me about your dreams in the comments below I'am very interested in hearing what they are. I whish you guys the best and may your dreams one day become reality but remember Practice makes perfect.

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Nice info. Thanks :)

You are welcome! Thanks for reading my journey

hello @hendrikdegrote check this please and give it some support like you do all the time thx again @hendrikdegrote