Painting Exploration Continues....

in #art11 months ago (edited)
Happy Sunday !
As you know I normally go to my Mom's for a visit on Sundays. I usually make or pick up some lunch and then we visit all afternoon. I do some projects, not big ones, but any issues she may have with her computer or Alexa or other small things she might need that I am able to do. Today though, she is going to a birthday party at my brother's house for some of his grandchildren, so the day is mine to do whatever I want.
Yesterday my day was going happily. I was doing some things that needed to be done in a leisurely way. Then mid afternoon I got the Sparkly Eye that meant a migraine was about to show up. Good Grief ! I have no idea what set it off. I ate some leftover pizza and a drink with caffeine because I was hungry, took some meds and then got in front of the TV and fell asleep for a few hours, which is exactly what I needed to do in the situation
I think I woke again around 8:30 in the evening. I was feeling much better, but my head still felt like a water balloon was inside if I tilted my head forward or bent over. Just sitting or walking or just standing was ok though, so it was mostly good. I turned on the TV and some art videos and slipped over to my art table to continue playing and trying new things.
I was watching a video on youtube about a dead sculptor who had left their artwork to be displayed in their garden and house and.... a museum of sorts. While it was playing I took my gold paint and made two sculptures on a canvas that I had already played on last week, but that had never gotten into a good direction, so the canvas was already covered with multiple colors of paint. I then painted this scuplture garden with a blue and white whushie sky over top of it. You can see some bits of the purples and violets from the previous incarnation across the sky and at the back of the garden.
When you get a distance from it, the bits in the sky almost look like a circling flock of birds. (This painting is a 9X12)

vivid.jpg

In the wee hours of the morning this morning as I was painting this, I think I thought it was done and it may be.... I think it is.....

20230618_110124.jpg

...but there is a very slight "haunting" of my mind that it may need one more tiny thing. If only.....I knew what that was .... or should I be shouting "STOP !!" at myself, just like a minute ago when I was in the living room looking for a ruler to measure this so I could tell it's size and found the ruler wasn't where it was supposed to be. I yelled out "WHERE IS THE RULER THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE HERE !?!?!".... to no one else.... because I am the only one here. Nobody answered, but then I did finally find it.

20230618_110142.jpg

The scuptures are 3 shades of metallic gold and 1 shade of metallic copper, so at some angles, you can see they are a bit shiny.
I'm not quite to my Monet level yet, but I was trying to remember if any of his paintings had sculptures in them. Bridges yes.... but sculptures?

shiny.jpg

It was really time for me to go to bed after I got that far, but since I had several hours of nap time earlier, I wasn't sleepy at all, so I grabbed a little 6X6 canvas and slapped on an abstract cornflower.
It did take longer than I expected, so simple, right? ...but of course it didn't come together with one quick splash of paint, so many parts were over painted.... and painted over.... and layers added. About 5 AM when it got to this version, I wasn't sure it was done, but this morning when I got up and it had dried, I realized indeed it was complete.

20230618_105954.jpg

It is not exactly how I envisioned before my brush hit the canvas, but for real, I only knew it would be teal and yellow when I started and .... it is that! This is more like my old abstract self.

20230618_110117.jpg

Here they both are on my little tabletop easal this morning in the natural sunlight from my front window.

2 paintings.jpg

...and here they are on my piano with last week's Summer Day.

20230618_045616.jpg

I've had such a hard time getting back steady into my painting for a good while. I didn't like it, but I simply couldn't get myself started. Trying some new things is drawing me back in. Maybe I will find a new direction to pursue.
Fact is, since my day is open for "whatever" I believe I am heading back to the art table now to see what may be my next painting surprise.
Hope you are all doing well.

LOVEYOU !

Jacey
Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you ! 💚

These are all delightful! I always love your paintings. I want a coneflower just like that growing in my garden! 😊

Thank you. It's pretty fun trying to see what I can make of them. Sometimes they surprise me and I like them.... sometimes they have to get in line for a do-over....LOL....

They are beautiful! Love that coneflower. I have several blooming in my garden at the moment.

It is not exactly how I envisioned before my brush hit the canvas

Isn't that always the way it is? Frustrating sometimes, but more often kind of an adventure.

I get migraines too. So sleeping usually resolves yours? Knock on wood, but sleep does generally resolve mine. I do not get auras. I do get the hell ride that is accompanying nausea though. It's like, well the head pain is bad, but maybe I can get through a little longer and then the nausea hits and nope. I'm non-functional.

I don't know why I would be surprised when what I envisioned doesn't come out, I mean, I don't think that has ever happened. Mostly though, I nearly never have a vision. Good thing I like abstracts so that any way it comes out I can pretend that's what I mean to do. LOL

Thank you ! They were fun to do.

I rarely get a migraine. Didn't have any till my late 40's and most of them were during about a 3 year period. Since then, very, very rare. I am fortunate in that I don't usually get the head splitting pain. It either starts out of the blue with a slanted sparkly line the does a wavy glitter as it slowly passes over my eyes from right to left and then disappears... .OR, no sparkles, just amazing dizziness like vertigo for a few hours. Afterwards my head feels like I have my Beanie on too tight....LOL.... or a heavy headband across the middle of my head from ear to ear and my eyes are slightly bleary.... and .... all that, just not (so far) excruciating pain, which I am very VERY thankful for. I stay slightly loopy headed for about 3 days'ish. I know you wanted to know all that ! It's annoying.

Sleep is always helpful at the first.

Thanks for stopping over. I've been happy to see you posting again.

Glad to hear your experience with migraines. I can't say that mine are true migraines, as I have not ever had it formally diagnosed, but they fit a lot of the symptoms, so I'm not sure an official name is necessary. Pretty sure mine are triggered by digestion. In Traditional Chinese Medicine I believe there is a connection between the two, and I've noticed it myself. Some people just get a spot of indigestion...and then there is me. Sigh.

It probably would not turn out half so good if there was a vision anyway - visions are stagnant; evolution has more depth.

"Some people just get a spot of indigestion...and then there is me. Sigh."

ha ha.... I feel like that about a lot of things in my life.

art visions, like long term goal setting have always eluded me. :)

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP