Practice Project 4

in #artlast month (edited)
Hello Again....
Good Lawd ! Am I ever glad the working part of Monday is over ! Once again I clawed my way through the work. Days like this I could do without workwise, but I let it go as soon as I clocked off my work station. It wasn't quite as horrible as I make it sound, but it really wasn't fun. Work should be fun don't you think? In the perfect world I suppose.

UPDATED.jpg

Since my family chose to do our Easter meal on Saturday, I had yesterday to myself. I was the laziest bum you could ever imagine.
I didn't know what I was going to start next, so I chose to do some more arty papers for tearing up and gluing. That seems weird to create something to tear up, doesn't it?
This time I chose to make marks and use stencils over coloring book and doodle book pages. I thought having something busy in the background might add interest.

20240331_114146.jpg

So I made marks and swirls and yadda yadda over whatever was already there, obscuring the original design and of course, since I will only use torn off pieces, the original will be unrecognizable.
I also marked up the edges too so I could use that as well.

20240331_114720.jpg

I used some colored markers before the black on this one.

20240331_122847_HDR.jpg

Upclose was pretty neat with the layers.

20240331_122854_HDR.jpg

This was the back of an elephant 😄 I randomly colored in parts of the design before I stenciled over it. Interesting, yes?

20240331_125907_HDR.jpg

Some of it turned out pretty neat and if you think I showed you too many arty papers, this wasn't all, but I thought I'd spare you.

😅

20240331_115826.jpg

Now a quick detour. One of the artists on some of the videos I watched used this kind of bottle for some of her paints and glazes and glues. They are sold for condiments like catsup and mustard or the such, maybe BBQ sauce? I thought it was really neat. I had a large bottle of black paint that it was clunky when I tried to pour just a little, so I had ordered these bottles (monkey see, monkey do 🐒) and it was really, REALLY awesome and made it so much easier to use the black paint. I could squeeze a lot out or just a drip or two. I don't have giant jars of all my colors, but I can see using it for white and black and maybe for the liquid glue or sealer.

20240331_131105_HDR.jpg

OK... back to my art.
Although when I was making the papers, I had not made a plan for what I would do after I finished them. Turns out I stared tearing them apart and gluing them all around on another practice board.
I kind of liked the hodge podge way it looked. Unfortunately, I feel like I am still doing lots of it... well, I would say wrong although there is supposed to be no such thing as wrong, but since this is the bottom layer, most of the interesting parts will be painted and papered over as the future layers go on. I've got to remember to save anything I really like for closer to last so it's goodness won't be wasted. So-so stuff on the bottom, better stuff nearer the surface.

20240331_164341_HDR.jpg

Now some random paint.

20240331_172259_HDR.jpg

As I was going along, I decided I wanted some little houses along the horizon of something, so I went through my stash of fun papers I previously made, some of these were in the first batch I ever created. I cut out some random house shapes, laid them across the paper, called them good and glued them on. Then I made sidewalks for each out of the same paper they had been cut from.

20240331_181835_HDR.jpg

Somehow, after the houses were glued on, I realized they were not supposed to be people houses, but bird houses. They were much to large to be on a horizon on this piece. It simply wasn't big enough. Now the sidewalks became wonky birdhouse posts!

20240331_212952_HDR.jpg

As funny as it sounds when artists say they let the art tell them what it wanted to be (a bunch of hokum I usually say! LOL).... but this time it really happent ! Go figure.
Once I post this, I am going to feed myself something for supper and go to my art table and clean up the mess I made yesterday. I already sorted a couple of things during break and got the painty water taken care of and the brushes cleaned. There's a lot of scraps though, some too small to keep and some that just need to be sorted.
I hope you are all happy and doing well.
Love you !
Jacey

20240401_095840_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jacey.boldart, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thanks again ! ❤️

amazing work of arts

Thank you ! 😊

Thanks for sharing your creative rockets... Somewhere in between the regular houses and birdhouses, I saw those shapes trying to be rockets! But, the art had a different plan in the end and birdhouses are perfect! 😃


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions Posts!

Comment Footer.jpg
Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

Thank you SO much !

Rockets ! I can see how you could see rockets, they do have that general shape, especially the taller skinnier ones. If one goes shooting off into the sky, we'll know they were rockets instead of birdhouses. 😄

Another fun one.

I love your idea of mark making over colouring pages. I have a couple of books that I picked up for free whose designs I don't really like so I'm unlikely to use them as intended. So far I've used them in junk journals. I never thought of using them as base papers. Great idea!

Thanks !

Since most of the coloring designs are bold black outlines on white backgrounds, like I said, I thought they might add interest behind stencils or had splashed paint. I did already have the coloring books and they were in a drawer with the tablets of plain paper. It just seemed natural to drag them out too when I was first going through my "stuff" here to see what I already had that I might could use.

Funny how you start sizing up everything that is papery once you start, to see if you think you could use it.

Of course, these are birdhouses - so cute they are. The plastic bottles - super idea, just make sure you don't confuse it with the BBQ sauce when you prepare your supper 😁

That would be bad ! I'll have to make sure I don't store anything brown in them, just to be sure. LOL !

They didn't look like they were birdhouses at first, because I didn't cut out any birdhouses.... 😃 .... but after they were glued on with sidewalks.... well.... they just became something else ! It's ok, I love colorful birdhouses too.

Little people homes will have to come along later.

The real fun and beauty is in the process of creation something, when things can change when the inspiration hits in a different way ;)

Creating something really is fun. Of course in your case, it will also be fun to give them away. Giving is fun too.

image.png

Thanks a bunch !

I guess that is the way it is with layers, sometimes they get covered up, at least partially. I always enjoy watching Bob Ross paint, but he explains about painting in layers, and usually covers up such beautiful parts in the painting with something that is more in the foreground.

Yeah.... the layers sometimes make really neat affects, well, if you do them right, something I'm still working on.