2012 FLASHBACK. Finding My Art Path

in #art6 years ago (edited)

6 years back I just freshly became full time artist and I had no idea how many long days months and years spent in front of the easel it will take me to find my own style, my artist signature.

! jan fuck the law logo.jpg
You have to admit even back in 2012 I was already pretty "awake" as far as t-shirt design goes:)

Today I'd love to show you what I was painting "back in the day", when I was full of ideas (which only increased since then) but also full of confusion.

There's nothing wrong with confusion as far as you don't give up. Confusion is necessary to find your way. If you don't get lost first, you won't ever find your way. No wise man fell down from heaven, we say back in my country, meaning that wisdom same as mastery is earned.

So back in 2012 I was painting anything that came to my mind, and it wasn't always pretty. I won't show you the most ugly ones today, not that I'm ashamed of it, but I don't see the point:)

I had a weird mix of landscapes, cityscapes, portraits and nude model works. Also some surrealist snails and animal studies.

Here is a little bit of everything:

"Brandee the Truth"

.
Brandee the Truth logo.jpg

Brandee was one of my yoga teachers. This painting is interesting because it's probably my only painting that resembles the pop-art style. Reason I mention that is because I am planning to dive into pop-art sometimes this year. Just to check it out and explore bit further. Been enjoying some pop art lately.

"Natis free joy"

.
Natis logo.jpg

Natis was my Colombian friend and she was always merry. I only realized that the name of "free joy" might sound weird to some people, but I assure you there is no other "unintentional" connotation in it. She was just this happy joyful person. Moved back to Colombia shorty after we met.

"Paul on his way to Tibet"

.
Paul on his way to Tibet logo.jpg

This is picture of my British friend Paul on his way from China to Tibet back in the ol' day when this was still possible, probably early 2000s.

"Young artist inside hot studio without window...:)"

honzik a cherry blossoms.jpg

Oh God looking at this picture I am so happy for the studio that I have now. Life was way harder back then, but then, I was younger and I was sillier... life was great:)

I hope you liked my little throwback 6 years back,

Keep on Steemin like there is no tomorrow (cause there is not, only NOW),

Keep on Steemin like SBD is back to $12 ;)

Life's about love not $,

Much Love to all,

Blessings,
Jan
follow @jankasparec

most ridiculous shorts I ever owned. Kinda miss them :)
hanes studio eagle logo.jpg

Sort:  

I love all the portraits! Seems like it’s a great idea to try some pop art you showed me before :) don’t forget you are a hardworking magician :)

THe pop art we talked about in Charlatan while having pints? Your semi-profile detail of your Bruce Lee eyes, dressed up like a modern ninja in black leather outfit with katana slung over your back? YAAAAAASSS!!! :P

really nice i enjoy your posts :) , and why without window, hahaha, joking ..

i see you love to paint about nature , they are unique . <3

Thanks Adele! Funny story: this morning I met a long time client of mine. She was lucky to buy some large pantings of nature of mine before they went to 4 digits prices and she told me that everyone who visits her home is stunned by it. I was thinking for a long time to come back to my nature paintings, and I think this, and now you, is the sign that I maybe should give it more time. THank you!

really? then i'm happy to hear this ,, so you take signs serious, i do the same, sometimes when you have a decision or thinking about something so signs flowing toward you , yes maybe it was another one,
because i like the way you paint nature, they are big in size and also they have a peaceful theme :)

Of course I listen to Universe!! It's talking in every single moment, but we are just too deaf to hear, too distracted and out of tune, out of balance. Just painting a new nature painting NOW! :) Beautiful sunday morning! Thank you!

you start it? GREAT :)
i'm getting ready to sleep midnight here , hahah
wish you a good colorful day

Awesome, love seeing your progressions, it's really inspiring!

Thank you for your encouragement! :)

I loved your story and glad you shared it with us because it is very inspiring.
I totally agree with you that it takes time to find yourself or your way or who you really are, but as long as you are moving forward and toward your dreams or what you like and don't give up, you will get there and you will find your style, your purpose, your happiness.

Love it.
Thanks @jankasparec

Hi Joanna! Thank you for your lovely comment! Blessings! <3

2012 was about when I started producing things I didn't hate XD I like that saying about no wise men falling from heaven, I keep trying to explain that one in various ways to my kids when they're struggling with something and decide they're no good at it from either the first go or just a couple of goes :)

Yay for having a not hot studio with a window now? XD

goatsig

Haha, exactly. Sauna is ok when you have bit of fresh air. Now it's still hot as hell (cause I'm under the roof) but at least I have roof window. TBH I love heat. But I do need to breathe :)
Right you are and I am sure you are a great dad! Something I have no idea about yet.

nice Art. Art is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving..I wish u will be a great artist. god bless u

really good jobs.