How I use crayons as an adult....

in #art7 years ago

I admit I am a huge crafter. I love to try different craft projects that I see being done around the web. Today I want to share with you one of my favorite projects.... Melted Crayon Art.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 4.50.36 PM.png
(Photo credit: Good Housekeeping.com)

This is a favorite because I have a thing for melting wax. I can't have candles in my home cause if I light them I will start playing with them and the melted wax they create. Ultimately I end up making them unusable. So doing a project where I am allowed to melt wax is a hit.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 4.52.37 PM.png
(Photo credit: PICMIA.com)

This project is pretty simple, you just take some crayons and glue them on the top of a canvas (not with hot glue cause that will melt as soon as the heat hits it). Then you take a blow dryer and run it over the crayons so they start to melt. Be sure to keep the canvas standing straight so that the melted colors run straight down (or what ever direction you want it to go).

Also be sure to do this project someplace that can get messy. I started doing this project in my bathroom counter and after seeing wax splattering all over once it started to melt, I quickly took it outside.

The beauty of this crayon art is that you can do any colors you want and about any story you want. I made one for my daughter and used the colors that would match her room.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 4.36.42 PM.png

Once I started melting I realized that I did a bad job setting up the color scheme. The colors were blending in a bad way and making browns instead of cute pinks and greens like I wanted. I was NOT happy about how it came out....so I had to do it again.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 4.36.11 PM.png

The new set up came out much better. This was a project I could be happy with and would proudly display it.

Once I got the bugs out, I tried it again making art for my son. He is a percussionist and a teen, so what I made for him had to have more of a "mature" feel if he was gonna let me hang it in his room.

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 4.37.06 PM.png

I decided not to take the papers off the crayons this time around and it worked out well. It helped keep some of the splatter under control cause the melted crayon ran down the paper "tube" and not all over the place. It also moved things along faster than if I took them all off.

I was more deliberate on how I set the color scheme and I am happy to say I only had to do his ONCE.

All in all I was happy with my melted crayon art and would enjoy trying it again in the further.

Have you ever done some crayon art? I would love to see photos if you have any to share.

xoxo
Josie

Sort:  

These are awesome!! - though not sure my other half will let me user her hair dryer for this...

Oh you should try it. The hair dryer is safe, if you keep a good distance it will not be affected at all. Trust me it's a fun time, post a photo of you make one!

Very nice - really thinking out-of-the-box

Awesome technique there! I love it!

You deserve a:

Why thank you!

You're welcome!