The beginning of the Parkchester Project

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I wanted to share a project that will take close to 10+ years and has the potential to become something more.
I was hired last November to carve an oak tree at the Parkchester North Condominiums in Bronx NY. Carving at the Woodlawn Cemetery got their attention and landed me the job. The Parkchester has a large number of trees that are lifting sidewalks and at risk of falling. They have to be cut, however instead of cutting them all the way down, I can come in and give them a new life. Here's the first one:
PhotoGrid_1511909270885.jpg
A 12ft oak scene with a hawk, 2 squirrels and 2 doves. This piece took 3 days to carve. I have only a few progress pics but I did film the whole process. Just tried to copy the link on Facebook to share here but there is no longer an option. So I will repost the video on dtube.

IMG_20171109_063505082_HDR.jpg
Drew up a sketch for them so they could get an idea of what it will look like.

IMG_20171106_110922896_HDR.jpg
Here I am standing next to it.

Here's a couple progress pics:
IMG_20171113_102932663_HDR.jpg
Just a couple cuts in.
IMG_20171113_161615400_HDR.jpg

Wasn't long before it was finished, finding the hawk was the most time consuming.
IMG_20171115_153658776_HDR.jpg
IMG_20171115_163530476_HDR.jpg
IMG_20171115_163508268_HDR.jpg
IMG_20171115_153727508_HDR.jpg

I did manage to upload to Dtube, here is the link to the timelapse:

20180429_064605.gif
A walk around gif for ya

This is the first of many trees I have to carve on the Parkchester grounds. 55 trees to be exact and there is possible plans to hold a sculpture contest or competition. Where I invite other carvers to join me in sculpting some stumps and at the end, having the community vote for their favorites. Issue prizes for the top down...there were just whispers of this possibility and it will take some planning. Either way I still have 54 more stumps to get carved. Maybe I have a reality show in the making. Why not, my Canadian carver friends have a show. I can gather the best in the US for a fantastic show. But how and to who do I pitch this idea? Hmm, some research perhaps...to be continued

I hope you enjoyed my post, if so feel free to upvote and resteem
Thank you all for following

photostudio_1524909610293.jpg

Sort:  

Creativity I love it

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Nice work! I love the movment in the design of the carving. I'm actually just starting to learn woodworking right now. It's a very interesting feeling material to work with.

It is a great material, agreed. Thank you for the comment

Wow it's amazing how those realistic and almost alive creatures have been freed from the wood by your talent.

Beautiful carving! And hope there will be some more vegetation planted also.

This is awesome! What a great way to make a neighborhood more welcoming!!!

I am absolutely amazed by your work! I saw a repost on another page and I’m glad I clicked on it. How long does a piece like this one take? Reading your post you have your hands full for quite awhile with 54 more stumps! Again I’m blown away by this, you are truly an artist

But wouldn't the trees grow later?

I have never cut a tree down in my life, I only carve them. This one was at risk of falling into the building so it had to be cut

buenas tarde para todos y todas el trabajo del amigo debe de tener mucha consentracion nada mas q en el acabado q tiene el aguila y las ardillas esta perfecto te felicito amigo esta super genial y muy maravilloso de verdad me alegra su trabajo felicidades

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This is awesome. Keep up the good work!