Pursing New A New Hobby: Drawing!

in #art6 years ago

Hello everyone! Today I will be taking a bit of a break from talking about travelling and adventures and continue on a little more to do with art

My whole life I had been terrible at drawing and my hand writing to this day still remains very scribblely.

It was always something I had wanted to learn but never committed the time to sit down and learn. Last year while I was on my university exchange to San Francisco State University, I was fortunate enough to pick up Drawing 1 as an elective that counted towards my degree. It was a really good decision.

From day 1 of class we were told that if you thought that this was a bludgey subject, you were going to fail. The parameters were set that we had to complete at least 1 drawing (minimum 30 minutes spent on it) every day and our progress would be recorded relative to our starting skill.

This was my very first drawing.


broken iphone.jpg

I soon learnt that drawing was an endurance battle of creativity and focus as our classes were three hours long that tackled new concepts: contour, cross contour, negative space, figure drawing, still life, perspective etc (all your essential techniques).

As the days progressed, it felt as if my drawings were not. It was a frustrating learning curve. But I kept at it and continued to work at improving my drawing skills.


cups.jpg


bananarama.jpg

Not only did I feel I was not progressing but we frequently had critiques (a whole class dedicated to posting drawing assignments on the wall to be critiqued by our teacher and peers) where my peers seemed to be improving exponentially. What the hell was I not doing correct.


class critiques.jpg

calss critiques 2.jpg

Most of time spare time I committed myself to practising my fundamentals using youtube as my main source of education. I figured that once I returned to regular work life back home, I wouldn’t have the luxury of time to learning a skill like I did in SF. I was going to improve my drawing.

About two months had passed and my teacher was flipping through my sketch book. She knew I put the effort in but I just wasn’t ‘seeing it’. I’d ask her to do drawing infront of me and it would make sense, as soon as I was left to do it on my own I couldn’t replicate it, something was missing. In that moment I had realised there had to be some sort of book to help me figure out what I wasn’t seeing.

Why didn’t you ask this before? My teacher mentioned that I ought to get Betty Edwards ‘Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. This book had become my breakthrough. This was not a step by step guide on how to draw a box or a cat. This book helped switch your logical brain thinking to abstract, creative right brain thinking with detailed breakdown of each drawing skill: Perceiving edges, spaces, relationships or perspectives, portraits, and lights and shadows.


drawing on the right.jpg

It gave you exercises that challenged your logical left brain thinking by using techniques such as drawing upside down and using a slate of glass to draw lines you physically see in front of you.


pictureplane.jpg

Just two weeks after reading through the book and completing the exercises my drawings became noticeably better. This was my first breakthrough, understanding thickness of lines in a drawing of a flower.


flower.jpg

Here I started to understand shared lines.


curtsey girl.jpg

man kicking.jpg

Each chapter I was finally seeing what I hadn’t before. Quite literally in this sense, I struggled with understanding negative space. How on earth do you draw something that isn’t there? Drawing On the Right Side of The Brain does a spectacular job of that. Here my negative space drawing exercises from the book!


negative face.jpg

negative chair.jpg

negaticve girkl.jpg

leg photos.jpg

I’m sure everyone know that glorious feeling when your hard work is paying off and you start to see the results right before your eyes, in that moment you are engrossed in your skill and even more driven to continue. It’s highly satisfying and this is how I felt with my next skill of foreshortening.


third hand.jpg

Here is a series of my first attempt to my class assignment submission (note you can obviously tell where I put time into that drawing and where I had to do a mad scramble to drawing something after a night out).


concept hands.jpg

Final product. It's a clock going around using hands as the clock hands.


rushed assignment.jpg

The final chapter of the book outlines to how work out proportions for portrait drawings. It’s something I still struggle with but also learned a valuable lesson from my drawing teacher, COPY THE MASTERS!

But first here is the progression of my portraits before tackling master drawings.


first portait.jpg

Self portrait, with a fairly large pout.


self portrait pout.jpg

Experimenting with cross hatching.


vross hatch exper.jpg

Yes that’s right, copy the best and you’ll pick up little nuances that drawing from still life won’t give you feedback about.


first portarit yes.jpg

This portrait was my biggest breakthrough. My final drawing before I continued travelling North America!


biggest breakthrough.jpg

From my shitty iPhone drawing to my final portrait I was immensely proud how far I came and it was several months before I could return to a quiet room and sit for hours working on improving my craft.

And to be truthful (and like I predicted) my time spent drawing decreased but I have kept a few drawings going every month or so, but this time with an understanding of how to see properly.

Here are some drawings I’ve done since I’ve been home.


newest muscle man.jpg

newest creations.jpg

A massive shoutout to my art teacher at SF State, Lisa, for always pushing me to keep moving forward and help me accept not to compare my art to everyone else’s!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jules from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.