Join us on DADA.nyc! Another way for artists to collaborate and communicate on the internet!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

If you're an artist or art collector and you haven't heard of dada.nyc yet it's a social media site with the slogan speak visually.

DADA is a social network where people speak to each other through drawings that you can collect on the Ethereum blockchain. Speak Visually. https://dada.nyc

This art work was created by @matytan (left) and Otro (right, who I don't believe is on Steemit yet).

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 2.01.42 PM.png

These artworks were replies to my original drawing, you can see the whole chain of replies here:

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 1.58.11 PM.png

Isn't that neat?

The way dada works is a bit of a ranking system, when you first join you can only create art until you reach a certain experience level. After each level is attained you can reply to people of the same level or lower. Currently I am an art enthusiast which is a magenta dot, I will reach apprentice after creating more art and interacting on the site.

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 2.22.43 PM.png

Heres another piece that created a long reply chain!

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 1.59.12 PM.png

(@juliakponsford, @donnadavisart, @matytan, @juliakponsford, @rubenalexander) All Steemians!

Dada also has an online art gallery where chosen artists are featured to sell their work for etherium in limited numbers and I really think this will become a more popular way for artists to monetize their work in the future:
https://dada.nyc/artgallery

The only con for me so far is the interface, it isn't usable on my tablet where I create the bulk of my art so I am only left trying to make art with my desktop mouse >-< which I find very difficult! After practicing a little I was able to more easily control it but I look forward to any upgrades that make it tablet compatible.

There are already a bunch of Steemians on there so if you haven't joined yet you should sign up it, just takes a few minutes to get started. If you are on there and I haven't followed you yet hit me up in the comments and let me know your username :)

Dada also has an account on steemit: https://steemit.com/@grandenchilada so you should give them a follow too!

Sort:  

that sounds like a really cool idea! i wish i was more talented in this area.

You should try it out just for fun, it's not like a competition or anything :)

Is any form of art accept it in dada? I think it so great, I will try it. Thanks

Yes any type of art there are no restrictions!

Ok, Thank you so much for this information, I often see post for dada but I didn't know that mean. Yeah I will try it later.

the beauty of an image that contains art

You do this awesome work with just a mouse, wow! I love your new piece that was just posted before I type this, the purple one. I use both a mouse and a pen with my tablet when I use Dada, and you have to use the chrome browser; if that helps at all.

Really liked the style of that conversation I wanted to join but what I made was not so great, lol!

I don't have a Wacom stay tablet I have an android tablet so it doesn't connect to the computer. They have said they would like to make it more tablet compatible in the future so I'm keeping my fingers crossed for that :) it's a pretty fun idea though!

I heard of this site awhile back but I hesitated to join due to the interface. I don't have a drawing tablet and drawing with a mouse will hurt my wrist and fingers badly. I hope they include the feature to allow traditional drawings too. Not everyone is keen to do digital art due to some restrictions.

Yeah using a mouse isn't comfortable for long periods of time so I probably won't spend hours working in a piece at this time, you can still do some fairly simple drawings it really depends on your style!

Thanks for the tip. I am giving it a try :)

I need to try this out one day... However Steemit is my priority :)

I hear ya, gotta get those steemit posts done first :D

Thanks @juliakponsford. Definitely i'll try it.

Dada is so fun and I see my little cat up there. It's a great place to visually chat and I like it for my 'coffee wake up sketches'.

I'll see you round dada!

Thanks for the info. I signed in as ZHeimberg. Hopefully over the weekend I can take a look around.

Just signed up! Thanks X

What an amazing idea!!! Thanks!

Looks like I missed quite a bit there.

At first I couldn't get it to work, but chrome works well with my wacom, and I'm slowly getting addicted! See you there 👨‍🎨 👩‍🎨

Do you have the same username there?

Reinhard Schmid... replied to your "purple wave" :-)

This looks awesome!
Note to self: check this out