How to Paint Photo-Realistic - my painting "Big Fingers I" step by step

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemers and Steemians,

this small painting I've done a while ago.

I've discovered this little frog in Australia and thought it would be definitely worth to paint this scene.
Unbelievable but true, this cute little fellow is already a fully grown tree frog.
It´s sitting on my hand :).

For the little picture I've used oil paint like usually.

"Big Fingers I"
oil on canvas
13 x 18 cm

1 a big fingers.jpg

This is the beginning of the painting:

1 IMG_20150708_132111.jpg

First I started with the skin tone in the backround.

2 IMG_20150709_132238.jpg

The smooth transitions in the backround are important to create more depth.

3 IMG_20150709_145025.jpg

After the backround was done I've started on the main figure.

4 P1370142.jpg

And finally working out the details in the painting.

I hope you've enjoyed the post.
Have a nice day!

Discover more about my artwork:
www.kathrina-sofie.de
Subscribe to my newsletter!

Sort:  

Cute little frog! Admirable how you can paint such a realistic small painting. Maybe you should have held your finger next to it, but the one with the palette and brush also serves to illustrate the size.
I had a little frog like that living under the kitchen window of my house in Canada. It is a shaded corner, with evergreens covering most of the area and a large rock that got dripped on by a leaking water tap.

Oh cute! :D
As much as they love singing you can be happy if they find a new home under the kitchen window and not somewhere near the bedroom...
Did you keep it to forcast the weather for you? :)

no, never thought of that - and I didn't keep it, it kept me, lol.
But some time ago when the tap stopped leaking, he disappeared. There was a little depression in the rock that held water, and he would just sit there getting his feet wet.

That's a cute little fella! So this small frog is a full-grown tree frog? That's the most adorable frog I've ever seen lol.. So cute.. you painted it very well, almost like I'm looking at a picture here.. great job :)

Thanks to @anomadsoul making me "A whale for a day" by following my vote while he is traveling, my vote will be followed directly by his vote with the same percentage. So thanks to this you will receive a much higher upvote than I could give with my own Steem Power.

Have a great weekend!

Thank you sooo much @anouk.nox!! :)
Also for your big "whale for a day" upvote - interesting concept!

Yes, isn't it incredible that they are already fully grown while beeing still so tiny? :)
And they are really small. They are probably around 1 cm. The little dots on it's back are grains of sand sticking to it's skin.

Such a cute little frog. I love these little fellas. You've done an excellent job with the painting, the frog looks very lifelike.

Thank you :).
It's been an amazing experience to discover the Australien wild life!
Good when you have a personal guide and who is taking photos for paintings as well ;).

Beautiful work @kathrina-sofie! Upvoted and following :)

Thank you so much @adamfyda-art!!
I saw you are busy taking landscape photos. Awesome pictues!

Schöner Arbeit und schöner Step by step - resteemed!

Ist der Frosch nun eigentlich so klein oder die Hände einfach nur besonders groß? ^^

Danke dir!! :) auch für's resteemen!

Ja das kommt jetzt ganz auf die Perspektive an. :)

Astounding and I love the subject matter.

Thank you :) @donnadacisart! I had a lot of fun doing this painting.

Sooo süss der kleine Frosch... verwandelt er sich auch in einen Prinzen?;-)

:D Gute Frage!
Aber der Baum auf dem auch dieser hier saß, war übervoll von Fröschen!
Wenn die sich alle verwandeln gibt es eine ganze Armee von Prinzen. :D

I don't know how it's possible that I discovered your blog just now, your paintings are great! :)

Thank you so much @nikolanikola!! :)

really adorable and the colours are so wonderfully done with beautiful definition, @kathrina-sofie ! love the step by step presentation, also <3

Thank you @veryspider! :) That little frog was really to cute. It needed to be painted.

Ich dachte zuerst es sei ein Foto! Der Frosch ist wunderschön!

Danke dir! :)
Der war in natura auch echt niedlich, die sind wirklich extra klein.

Ja, einmal hat so ein grünling in Brazil in der Dusche auf mich gesprungen! Haah, hab mich so erschrocken! Aber er war nicht so klein wie dein.

Das kann ich mir vorstellen das man sich da erschreckt! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

How cool! :)
Thank you!!

No WAY ! I honestly thought that was a photograph before I looked at the entire post. Great painting ! YaY ! Great to find you on Steem (Bonny here who's house you stayed at in Aus.)

BONNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How cool!!!! to hear form you :)))))
Do the others know that you are here on Steemit? Already following you!!

Ich dachte auch erst, er ist echt! Super Arbeit und er ist zu goldig!