Old Drawings & Studies 2015

in #art7 years ago (edited)

"The only time you should ever look back is to see how far you've come."- A generic motivational quote, because I couldn't express it better.

This was probably the first ever tutorial that I made. I tried to make my own Patreon page, but my attempt utterly failed. I definitely do not regret trying, because luck is about playing the odds.

This was clearly inspired inspired by a Feng Zhu youtube tutorial

He was a huge inspiration for me and for how to approach learning. There is no art channel that I would recommend more than FZD design (all free).

I was browsing through my old art folders and came across the collection of my studies from 2015. You can open the image in new tab to see the close up.

I definitely had way less patience back then, I thought quantity over quality would help me improve faster. Now I'm certain that was wrong approach, because instead of learning new techniques I was mostly repeating similar steps, without pushing it further.
I have many, many more old studies/ attempted concept art, let me know if you'd like me to compile some more :)

Sadly I lost nearly all of references that I used back then. Now I try to collect most of the art on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/kristinaglas/

The following is my original character design from 2015. I reused the creature design from my sketch a few years before that.

The original foxy.


The refence sheet I used for designing the character

Another unfinished character design

Starting out artists should definitely try as many different things as possible, as it's hard to be 100% certain what you prefer drawing. I used to fear drawing characters and portraits simply because I lacked the skills. Fear should not be the deciding factor :)

My love for blue and purple was evident even back then :D
My new little dragon takes it to extreme xD

If you have any of the reference sources, please share them in the comments so others can see them as well.
Some of the portraits I have collected here: https://www.pinterest.com/kristinaglas/character-portraits-photo-ref/ and you can try cropping a specific image and try image search.

Good luck!

Sort:  

Nice to follow your digital "sketch book". I really want to get in to digital painting a lot more. Thanks for inspiration and I will ask for tips later on :)

Well we can definitely trade tips then :D
Your coloring skills are truly amazing. If you make a post about your sketchbook please share!
I have some old mostly small ones, but it will take time to take photos, maybe video :)

Oh man that sea creature/ cave? is SO LEGIT. I love the idea. reminds me of legend of zelda: wind waker ha.

Thank you :D
I'm a huge fan of pirate/sea adventures like Monkey Island, Pirates of Caribbean and Sinbad the cartoon ^^

oh for sure! Thats why I loved that game so much haha. Which reminds me... we need some new GOOD pirate/sea adventure movies...

You fight like a dairy farmer xD

Jabu Jabu!

Very good drawings @kristyglas! Love the character-designs! I don´t have the feeling you lacked the skills... ;)

Thank you :D
However, for anyone to donate I should have marketed better and made more useful tutorials. Only 1 tutorial post was definitely not enough, but I had no idea what I was doing, or how to explain well.

I fear drawing "whole" pictures 😂 But just today I finally finished one again after long time! Maybe u want to have a look at it.
Don't wanna spam you, I'm just interested what u think of it. 😊

The moon is really lovely ^^

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Very interesting post and nice drawings. Keep up good work!

Thank you! Maybe everyone should make a post of their old drawings ;)
If you do, drop a link here :D

I'm already pretty much publishing the old stuff (2011-2015) :)

Wow your old stuff is great, wouldn't realize it's old. ^^
Definitely nothing old/beginner like hehe :D