A Pinch of This

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I always require a pinch of patience when drawing. There is a certain point where I heave a sigh, and there is "work" to be done. This usually arrives around the midway point. When the inertia sets in and distractions start to appear, its time for a little break, and then return refreshed.

Bit by bit, step by step, everything in moderation, Roman wasn't built in a day, but I certainly try to finish a drawing in a day. =)

You know, the funny thing is, many people think working as an artist is just play all day. Well, the truth is, even art has its chores. So like any other task, streamlining the process helps get you through the difficult bits. Ever since I introduced more discipline into my studio practice, my productivity went up.

I'm slowly developing an appreciation for the studio chores. The reward is the sense of order and preparedness to start again with the creative process the next day. Removing all impediments to starting your creative work, is a huge help if you are face with creative blocks.

Out of the order comes the chaos, and from the chaos we return to the order, an ongoing roller coaster of creativity. 

I'm enjoying my ride. =)


Please leave your thoughts and comments below. Upvote and Resteem if you like it.


More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Amazing picture, keep riding the roller coaster of creativity. :)

Thank you @kathieletalis! I intend to. Wheeee...! =)

I can understand you.
You wrote "When the inertia sets in and distractions start to appear, its time for a little break, and then return refreshed.", I have to say that sometimes I need a "big" break before to return refreshed to an artwork, sometimes my "big break" is to work on another painting before to come back at the first ;)

A fresh set of eyes is always beneficial for progress. Likewise, a refreshed body is beneficial to an athlete. The trick, is making sure that break is not too long that we are sidetracked.

Yes, I too have reserve artworks always waiting on the sidelines should I reach an impasse.

I know what you mean. For me it's like I have a picture in my hand, the feeling to draw and than I got the sighh moment and in by past I kept drawing and the drawing turned out not so satisfying as I imangined it. Now I do a break and afterwards I repeat drawing and the drawing turnes out how it should, so always do the break as Leo says Kiddos hahaha And everything is about practice, so is art

In English, we say, "Practice makes perfect."
But I like the German version better, which translates as the following.

Practice makes the master.

And yet the beautiful thing about creating art is, no matter how much you master with practice, no matter how much skill you acquire, there's always something you can improve on with even more practice.
There's no peak!

Somebody recently brought this documentary "Jiro Dreams of Sushi" to my attention. It deals with just this topic. A true inspiration. =)

I'll check it out! Thanks!

Wonderful work,Leo!

Thank you @achimbornemann! Have a great weekend. =)

Thank you for the resteem. =D

My pleasure :)

This is also true when I make my 3D designs, I love to take little breaks which make me feel refreshed and energetic. Long working hours without any breaks can lead to boredom and loss of foucs, productivity.

Agreed! And also terrible mistakes.

I also try to make time for at least once day, at the utmost minimum, go for a walk in the park. Sitting in front of an easel or computer screen, we are not using our bodies enough. A healthy body makes for a healthy mind.

Very interesting article, I'm very curious about what kind of "discipline" you introduced to be more productive in an artistic context. I love to paint and to draw (I'm new in the Steemit community, if you want to you can check my work on my page ^^), but I'm not working as an artist (I'm IT teacher/researcher), so I don't have real "discipline" in art, I do it when I can/want, but I would be glad to learn more on what kind of "discipline" is possible to introduce in an art context.

Btw, nice work on the hand :)

Thank you @apoletter! The discipline required for an art context is the same as your IT work. It requires prioritising, eliminating distractions, preparing your work environment, data/materials and sticking to it. I used to work as programmer. That was no different. I needed to find creative solutions to solve particular problems or assigned tasks. It meant, try and try again until I got it working, think case testing and debugging. Then of course over time, you develop an insight and start to preempt certain issues. You might even end up writing a library of routines that you include at the start of each coding project.

So it is with artwork. Repeated, consistent and persistent experience will teach you your methods and techniques. The quicker you can repeat the process of try, fail, try, fail, the quicker you will arrive at do, succeed.

So think of the discipline, in programming terms as a conditional iterative loop.

The smartest thing I did to speed up this iterative process, was stick to smaller artworks. It meant I was trying out new things more often, which allowed me to see progress more frequently. Progress or success is the best motivator there is. This then feeds your discipline.

Does this make sense to you?

Wow, very interesting approach, I love the idea of the "iterative loop" on smaller artworks, and "The quicker you can repeat the process of try, fail, try, fail, the quicker you will arrive at do, succeed".

I think I need a bit more organization and regularity in my art activity, and maybe more reading and documentation.

I think it's a very common question but, you said you used to work as programmer, and now you are a full time artist? This sounds like a dream! Was it hard to jump from your work as programmer to this? I would love to hear personal stories about that. I think I'm still young (I'm 27) and working as an artist one day in the future is still somewhere (a bit hidden) in my mind. But I think it needs maturity, self-discipline (ahah, this word again), and assurance.

Ha ha, excelent! I knew I'd get through to you with programming speak. ;-)

I do intend to write an article on the very subject you just asked about. How to make the leap. In fact, it was on my todo list for this weekend, however, I have given higher priority to artwork. I have a new drawing on the go.

The article will take me hours to write. So if I engage a cost analysis, creating a new artwork is more profitable than a Steemit article. However, the Steemit article is a long term investment in written material that I can repurpose at a later date. eg. book or workshop.

So you see the way of my thinking. My art is my business. I am a sole proprietor. Being an independent artist, is no different to being a freelance programmer, except, I have product I have created to my own specs and can reproduce as merchandise.

Half or more of my time is taken up with tasks that are not art creation. Correspondence, newsletters, social media, packaging the artwork for shipping, after sales followup, growing the mailing list, studying the works of other artistst, living and dead to learn and improve my work...

I've drawn inspiration from other creatives, as I tried to unravel the mystery of artistic success. Most of this career inspiration comes from musicians. The two things that finally stood out were consistency and persistence.

Stick around, now that you have asked about it, and as it was on my todo list, I will write the article up soon and publish it in the next couple of days. I have to finish of my Van Gogh portrait first. =)

There is something very interesting here "creating a new artwork is more profitable than", I never thought like this (ok it's probably because it's not the case for me ahah), does this way to see your art came when you switched to a full time job as artist or has it here before?

And I look forward for your article (and your Van Gogh portrait ahah).
It's a pleasure to talk with you and to see that experienced people are enough open to share their experiences :)

Well, when you are living from the sales of your artwork, then such thoughts certainly come to the fore. It is just a necessity. Sales translate into being able to pay the rent, the power, buy new materials, feed the artist (you) to keep art production going. It is simply a question of sustainability. Otherwise, you're back to taking other jobs to cover costs and the artwork becomes secondary again.

Most happy to converse with you @apolette. =)

Everything, but from letter to letter you said is what I'm thinking for a long time. Found myself questioning about - time-steemit-painting relation. And yes, we have product, and we are doing all the job. And that job is so complex, and need to be done. So if not painting but doing posting or some other work related to art is also doing art in a way.

Yes, the other tasks are part of the job, but we do have to keep an eye on the balance. This is something I personally have to be constantly mindful of. Do you easily find that balance yourself @junwatercolor?

Not easily, I admit, still learning.. And believe it will last whole life :) Like learning about art, it's somehow conected. As we learn of art, we learn of ourselves and at the same time all thing that are conected.

Hello again Arnaud! I noticed that you also followed on Instagram. I recognised your logo. Smart branding. ;-)

I've checked your work out and there are a number of your works that rock it for me. So I'm following you back to see what more you post.

Wow, it's a great pleasure to read such a compliment from a professional painter like you! I also look forward to see more of your beautiful paintings :)

More coming. ;-)

Very true, Leo. It is often called art "work" for a reason. :) It is indeed a ride as essential as life itself.

Indeed indeed Cody. =)

Very cool art :) I like it very :)

Your hands are the best. I could use more than a pinch right about now. My biggest distractions are my other interests fighting for some attention.

I've eliminated most of my other interests, so I can keep focused. Mind you, Steemit has been a big distraction lately. =)

Very beautiful art and very beautiful words. Impressive package of talents :)

Perfect hand study - grandios drawn - this is aTOP artwork :-)
Resteemed

Thank you good sir! =)

Roman wasn't built in a day!👌🏻😏 true say!!

That is a fantastic drawing. It's a cliche but patience is definitely a virtue when it comes to art.

Having patience when creating the artwork, can make the difference between a great work, or something that miserably misses the mark.

I feel like I probably miss the mark more often than not, haha.

Then you know what the solution is. ;-)

Absolutely convincing drawing Leo! Chapeau!!

I know what it takes and of course I completely agree with everything else you are saying... there are times, when even the hardest jobs fixing our house seemed easy, compared to solving a tricky problem in a painting.

Drawing a hand that looks natural is one of the hardest things there is. You have become a master in this!

Thank you Reinhard!

I had started this painting the other week, but then switched to my Icarus painting. So, the first task at hand afterwards, was to finish this drawing off.

But I have some tasks around the house, that even they do not provide a desirable distraction from difficult artwork. ;-)

The artwork you give is very good, it's a great thing

Thank you @yusnidar! =)

I had to pull up a dictionary but i think i got you! :-)
Well written and i got good advice from it . Thank You ! Best wishes to you!

Congratulations @leoplaw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really like this drawing and your text :) I´m so grateful having a lot of media in my studio to divide my time on. If I get bored on a drawing I make something out of clay and etc. I´m drawing a very detailed sea urchin now for a silkscreen frame and I am almost standed, the drawing not even half finished :o I´m taking many days´s pause on that one though I should push my self and do a bit every day. Resteemed :)