Burning Horizon - art by @mariandavp

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This artwork was inspired by a drawing of my adolesence and a dream I had once.

I had dreamt of myself sitting in the back seat of a limo, unable to see the driver or even stop the car.

The car was driving endlessly through mountains and everytime it passed through a village or a town, the houses would burst in flames. I knew that had something to do with me but I couldn't do anything to stop it.

Finally the car stopped and the door opened automatically. I got out and saw a temple, a huge church. Other cars were arriving there as well and men got out of their cars dressed up in suits. They seemed sad.

A man came to me and explained that there was a funeral going on. He took me in from the back door of the church, from the sacred chamber. I looked up at the ceiling and it was so high and bright that it was almost one with the sky.

In the middle of the church there was a coffin. In the coffin an old woman in a pink dress was sleeping or so it seemed.

You are her only relative the man told me. Everything she owns is yours, but you have to go through those fires first to inherit her wealth...

She seemed unbelievably rich but the flames underneath the churches entrance floor were terrifying. I got upset. I asked the man why couldn't I just get what was rightfully mine -since I was her only relative.

You have to go through fire to claim what is yours, otherwise what's yours will be destroyed by the same flames you refused to cross.


I think I have told this story before, and maybe I wrote it more eloquently, but I have been inspired to paint this dream numerous times before, as I was today, and always feel the need to retell it.

20180219_013837-01.jpeg

For today's work I used my office art means, markers and pens.

Sort:  

you are amaing this is really great

Thank you very much @azizulhassan!

wow amazing piece of art work, i really like the use of different colors in your art work and it looks so colorful and creative, thanks for sharing your skillful work with us, Stay blessed

Thank you very much, I am glad you liked the color combination because I was sort of skeptical on that front!

Yes, you have told this story before. But I had forgotten it and it was very good to be reminded of why your work inspires me so much!

😊😊😊 Thank you my dearest... you have are my Steemit Wind beneath my wings.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks! Well, effectively I do... :)

a very good story my friend @mariandavp just upvote and resteem.

Τhank you very much @taillah!

@marianndvap, you told the story so good i almost shed tears. Art is such a beautiful way of communication.

Making use of art pictures when telling a story makes the story last longer in our mind and makes the story more engaging.

Thanks for sharing

Thanks so much for your encouraging comment @phinaloly!

same as my friend will always follow you @mariandavp and good luck always my friend.

So cool dear.

Glad you like it @klen.civil!

Yeah, Im very like it dear
😉

Really nice story telling and an awesome painting! thanks for sharing!

Thanks to you for reading and viewing my post!

wawoow amazing soo much deepness in this painting its my first time being in your post and you got a new follower!keep it up fabilios

Thanks so much, I appreciate it!

thanks for appericating^_^

very nice painting my friend ..

Thank you very much!

if a friend there is time to visit my blog once a friend yes

nice art

Thank you!

masterpiece

Thanks so much!

Very cool but weird dream, glad you shared it with us :)

Thank you for taking the time on my post!

Always a pleasure

Exactly your destiny is just across the fire.. have courage to cross the fire.. Destiny has got many challenges but they can be overcome.. Expressing that feel in painting Great

Thank you, I am really happy you appreciate it!

wow! this is really incredible Art work, you made the eye on mountains awesome!

i loved this artwork
best ever art @mariandavp

Isn't it always through fire we get to what is to be claimed...?
I have heard and read but have not seen the pictures of your dreams...

Indeed... nothing comes easy, does it?

The tears will take care the flames stops. When flames stops to burn, your smiling face will be in place. At the end it was worth to let go your feelings, it results in a open mind and this beautiful work made.

I like how you see the tears ending the fire, something like rain. Hopefully you are right...

Hey @mariandavp, this is awesome post.
I would like to add a quote here , that may be helpful to bloggers on this platform;

Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!
I've noticed alot of people doesnt reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...
They are More Likely To Follow You
I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post!

You can grow your followers so that they can grow you;

If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

@mariandavp This seems really interesting... Wondering what i would have done if I had been in this kinda situation. And really nice painting.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thank you very much, hope I didn't really scare you with the dream!