You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIVE DOES NOT REALLY “NEED” MORE USERS

in #art4 years ago (edited)

I can’t be arsed watching videos, so I don’t – I also don’t usually comment or vote on them, and if people keep posting videos I unfollow them. My usual cut off point for watching the very occasional videos I can be bothered to look at is five minutes, but most don’t make it past 30 seconds. And almost every post that is just a link to a video is another shitpost.

I agree with that sentiment for the most part. Far too many videos (blog posts, too) are too long because the long-form format is overvalued here. I hate word salad - spoken or written - because the world is full of information and I don't have to time to waste on filler content.

That said, there is a way to get around an author speaking too slowly or in circles. Just jack up the playback speed until you're no longer bored out of your skull. I love the videos of taskmaster4450 but he speaks too slowly for me, which is why I always listen to him at 1.5x or 2x. Even louisthomas feels too slow at times despite being clearly faster, which is why I keep alternating between 1.15x and 1.25x with his videos.

When it comes to the necessity of growth, I don't agree with you. The price of HIVE is 95% to 99.9% speculative at the moment. That's not healthy. It makes the price unstable motivating users to keep their coins liquid rather than staked weakening network security and causing all manner of other volatility related problems. Also, it's probably not sustainable in the long run. But the good news are the blogging use case does not have to grow for the use of the chain to grow. Hive can store text in JSON format making it a good option for apps that use NFTs.

Sort:  

The comments were all fun and games with memes, but now we get to the chewy bit with pips and crap...

Videos - I'd sort of like to do a post about videos, but I'm the most clueless person on Hive when it comes to videos and nobody would read it, so probably best I get into it right here.

First thing - TIME - if I look at my Hive feed twice a day for 30 mins and part of what I'm doing is curating, what I want to do is check out cool posts and fling money at them.

Lets say there are more than 30 new posts that look interesting each time I come back. Even if none of them are videos, I only have 1 min each on average to look at them, vote, and comment. There is no way I want to waste any of my time looking at a video. They are a distraction and a drain on my limited resource of time. If I vote on them I won't have watched them.

Most people don't have even an hour to spend on Hive because they waste most of their computer time looking at video distractions on Youtube.

People who make videos just don't seem to grasp that everyone is in a state of information overload. Their world revolves around their video, but for me, even if I really want to see the video, I'm only giving them 30 seconds to see if they can grab my attention. Most of them waste that 30 seconds with some shitty intro - that's it, I've already moved on.

TOO SLOW - the idea of speeding up videos is good, but why should I bother? - 30 mins at double speed is still 14 mins more than I want to give them, plus any time I waste changing the settings. Most Americans talk so slow they could bore the leg off a chair, but hearing them at double speed is just tragic!

image.png

And now for the INVESTMENT part - the key thing is that fucking 13 week power down time - all it would take to make the price of Hive go up is to take it back to 4 weeks like Steemit did (how is the value of Steem still over 20 cents when the platform is totally fucked?), and make it clear to investors that they can make 10% returns from passive curation. There are people with money to invest watching this space (yes I know some personally), but 13 weeks is a killer, and all the geek stuff about hardforks, and vesting, and code, and all that other boring crap just scares them off.

This is exactly what scares them off: "Hive can store text in JSON format making it a good option for apps that use NFTs"

What they want to hear: "10% return on investment for doing fuck all and a decent chance of 100% gains on the price on Hive within a year"

I understand.
For me, I'm making my videos cause it's what I want to do, not for the money. I understand as a dedicated curator, spending the time on a video instead of a blog is less productive, although I would say my videos should grab you within 30 seconds, if not, that's on me. But for the people who are just using Hive as a social network, a place for creative to come and share their artwork in a supportive environment, I would like to believe my videos could be entertaining.

But again, that's a very different point to the one you're making, and I take no offence that you don't watch my videos. 😉😁

Out of curiosity, I will check one out. It's great that you are posting the content you like to see yourself.

image.png