You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Interactive Paintings: The Vagabonds, a Recap

in #art6 years ago

Somehow I missed replying on this comment of yours - it's been in the back of my head though, as I just came searching to read it again. Every time I read your provided possibilies, my mind raced off - instead of just replying like I should have done a week ago :)

Thanks, series II should have a -slightly- new angle, without changing too much. I don't think Risk (though I love the game!) can be incorporated in this. This should be finite (at least within a 'series' - e.g. 8 Vagabonds; then a new series) instead of an ongoing turn-based war. Although your ideas have value, maybe for some other project (of yours even? Feel free!)

I do see this as a series - moving on from character to character, then making it the full circle to the first, instead of a battle royal. I'm still pondering over your suggestions (which are highly appreciated, I know you love the game!), but steemit has some features that made this particular format possible, but also limitations which makes for some impossible projects.

I haven't found a way into series II yet, but I'm sure getting ready for it, now that series I is finally and fully over! (with Salt running away, as quickly, and as far away, as possible! :D

And I think I've never written a reply here on steemit as long as this one, so there ya go!

Sort:  

Haha I was kidding about the battle royal / big brother / weapons thing! I like the Vagabonds as you've designed, and I think everyone else does too - you've managed to bring many of the good things about steemit together in a game!! :) But glad my nonsense gave you some ideas anyway! And I totally agree with you that the platform has its limitations on what can be done, and that the Vagabonds probably takes up quite a bit of your time as it is.

Without a serious suggestion at hand, maybe these can give you some inspiration for series 2! The first one is based on the relations we came up with, the second one adds the relations from the narration you created. I think I got all the character interactions in there, do correct me if there's a mistake!

vagabonds1.png

vagabonds2.png

Salt really ties the whole story together - with all that pressure, no wonder he wants to Vagabond away! ;)

Can't wait to see what twist you're going to bring to season 2!

That's an awesome diagram you made there - I did one (pen on paper, will scan it if you want!) and realized Salt had two mothers. So I knew I had a plot twist to go on immediately :D

Whoah, really impressive, hahaha

And, yep, I was initially going to write the story with every character telling their own bit, but it's really Salt tying it all together, so that's where I went as well :D

Vagabonds II has just started, and I think I managed to incorporate of few of your ideas - but not immediately... I have a slightly adapted - still random and fun, I hope - system, but I'll be bringing everything together in Phase II of it. Stay tuned, let's play!

That's an awesome diagram you made there - I did one (pen on paper, will scan it if you want!)
-> thanks! it was easy to do as I use the necessary software for work hehe. i'd be really interested in seeing how yours came out, it's always interesting comparing different layouts of the same network. and as you're linking the different series together, it will be interesting to map the connections as they're created.

I was initially going to write the story with every character telling their own bit
-> I was expecting that at first too but your storyline was a proper bucket of laughs! and salt is the ideal vagabond to focus the story on - globetrotter, two mothers, doubts around his relation to arlington, it's like a gypsy version of the kardashians! I'm sure you'll manage to whip something tasty up for Phase II of this epic tale :D

Vagabonds II has just started
-> whoop whoop! onto the serious business now! :)

Think I beat my comment record too there haha. And no worries about the delay I do the same! :)