Interactive Paintings: The Vagabonds, a Recap

in #art6 years ago

Some two weeks ago, I started posting my Vagabonds: a small series of small paintings, but with a little interactive twist. And I guess that little twist is what made it work, here on steemit.

The interactive twist was that anybody who commented could choose their own name of the character depicted; choose 3 random numbers, representing a random adjective for the character, a random profession, and a random origin; and then choose a relationship of the character to the next one in the series.

It was a game/experiment/interactive play and I enjoyed presenting my characters, giving everybody the opportunity to expand on them - and if I read the feedback from the players, it was a fun game for everybody involved as well!

For example, this was the first Vagabond I posted:

And I got these reactions:

Cyrus, 6, 9, 13, uncle by @winstonalden
Michna, 8, 13, 2, Guardian by @lenadr
Salt - 2 - 4 - 6, child by @deemarshall
Dudd - 13, 6, 9 - Watcher by @edward.maesen
Magnus, 9 7 8, Adopted brother by @bzaryp

These resulted in:

Cyrus, the Lively Freedomfighter from A Long Time Ago, in A Galaxy Far, Far Away..! The Uncle of...
Michna, the Philosopher from The Dead Man's Forrest, Guardian of...
Salt, the Cheerful Globetrotter from The Black Lagoon, the Child of...
Dudd, the Calm Antiquarian from Outer Space, Watcher of...
Magnus, the Reckless Detective from Nova Zembla, he's the Adopted Brother of...

For the adjective, profession and origin, I had made a list of 13 possble entries, of which the players could choose one randomly. With three random possibilities, this made for some unreal, unseen, improbable as well as very weird and fun combinations. After episode 2 (which only saw 2 entries), the Vagabonds really picked up the pace and saw between 6-9 entries every single time - for which I'm immensely grateful. It was a fun idea, but I didn't expect it to grow this big :)

Some of the unreal combinations made were:

Ian, the Mysterious Counterfeiter from the Shadowlands, being the Dog-walker of... (by @deemarshall in episode 3)
Dixie-ann, the Uncontrollable Sorceress from Liechtenstein, and also the Anesthesiologist of... (by @skippyza in episode 4)
Mark, the Delirious Monk from The Brewery, the Investor of... (by @mahmuliadi in episode 5)
Willibald, the Extraordinary Freebooter from Hell, being a Lawyer of... (by @w0olf, in episode 6)

Some players took this to the next level, and I have to especially mention @pv-p and @fraenk here, who went as far to write little short stories, and include jpgs and gifs to add to the character's development -- something I never expected to happen! It made for all the more intriguing characters, giving them depth, which I never anticipated. Thanks guys!


Despite all the fun and weird creative the entries, I knew I had to choose one "winning" entry, the one which would continue the line of the Vagabonds. For this game, I have always (save one special occasion) let a dice decide on the outcome who was the winner. Not that the winner would get anything apart from the bragging rights of getting the entry who would continue the heritage of the Vagabonds. There was one rule I imposed, which I didn't tell, and that was that any previous winner would be excluded from winning again, up till the point where there would be only previous winners. I didn't reach that point, though, thanks to the many participants!


Apart from receiving my full 100% upvote (worth $0.11 - $0.19 in a volatile market) every valid comment also received (after episode 2) the x'th share of 1 SBD (which x being the number of participants). I didn't request an upvote on the post to participate, nor did I intend to divide the actaul gained SBD of any particular post. That's how I did it, I consider it fair, some contestants appreciated that regularly (@youknowwhoyouare!), some contestans never bothered mentioning it (@idontblameya)


A next series?

Well, it was massive fun, so yeah, if you feel like doing another series of these, let me know in the comments!


What will change?

I already got some nudges to continue the series, or make a new one, so that's much appreciated! I would drop the number of choices from 13 to either 11 or 9-something-ish as many options weren't chosen. Also, adjectives weren't a problem to come up with; I had to put in a bit more time and thought to come up with professions and I really was sweating thinking of new origins after 8 times 13 possibilities. So that's a few changes that might be implemented. I never received any feedback, so along with your vote to do another round (yes or no!) feel free to let me know what particular input you can choose yourself, and what particular input could be randomized. I'm eager to learn and adapt!


Before commencing on Season II (for which your input is greatly appreciated!) I will now start tying the story of the Vagabonds Series I together, trying to make full use of everybody's comments, possibilites and probabilities, and I hope to see as much players for the next series as this one.

So, feel free to comment on how to go from here, thank you @deemarshall (being the only one to provide an entry for all 8 episodes, w00t!), @mahmuliadi (6 entries), @fraenk (6 episodes, including Lucius!), @pv-p (6 entries and tons of inspiration!), @skippyza (5 entries including some memorable ones!), @bzaryp (4 episodes, including the very first one!), @lintah (4, thank you!), @mellwe (3, nice!), @hazel420 (2 episodes, one winning entry!), @w0olf (2!), @joviandres (also 2!), and @fungusmonk, @j3cesar, @lenadr, @edward.maesen and @winstonalden (each one entry!)

Sort:  

Thanks for the game @marty-art and for letting us turn some seriously good art into the most convoluted story ever! :p And thanks again for not only sharing your work but also the rewards, very helpful and appreciated by the fish egg I am!

Suggestions for season 2: play the game like Big Brother mixed in with some battle royal and Risk. We buy weapons, power-ups and armor for our favorite vagabonds, you dictate the bloodshed and take our sbd. The aim? Become master of the loft vagabonds. The incentive? ??? (you make money?)

But seriously, suggestions for season 2 will come :)

Can't wait to find out who is going to pirate who next season, I feel like Ferris Bueller before his day off!

A Vagabonds Steem-Pocalypse ... hmmmmmmm

got to find ways to appeal to the masses. Violence and free cake are the two main strategies
free cake.jpg

Somehow I missed replying on this comment of yours - it's been in the back of my head though, as I just came searching to read it again. Every time I read your provided possibilies, my mind raced off - instead of just replying like I should have done a week ago :)

Thanks, series II should have a -slightly- new angle, without changing too much. I don't think Risk (though I love the game!) can be incorporated in this. This should be finite (at least within a 'series' - e.g. 8 Vagabonds; then a new series) instead of an ongoing turn-based war. Although your ideas have value, maybe for some other project (of yours even? Feel free!)

I do see this as a series - moving on from character to character, then making it the full circle to the first, instead of a battle royal. I'm still pondering over your suggestions (which are highly appreciated, I know you love the game!), but steemit has some features that made this particular format possible, but also limitations which makes for some impossible projects.

I haven't found a way into series II yet, but I'm sure getting ready for it, now that series I is finally and fully over! (with Salt running away, as quickly, and as far away, as possible! :D

And I think I've never written a reply here on steemit as long as this one, so there ya go!

Haha I was kidding about the battle royal / big brother / weapons thing! I like the Vagabonds as you've designed, and I think everyone else does too - you've managed to bring many of the good things about steemit together in a game!! :) But glad my nonsense gave you some ideas anyway! And I totally agree with you that the platform has its limitations on what can be done, and that the Vagabonds probably takes up quite a bit of your time as it is.

Without a serious suggestion at hand, maybe these can give you some inspiration for series 2! The first one is based on the relations we came up with, the second one adds the relations from the narration you created. I think I got all the character interactions in there, do correct me if there's a mistake!

vagabonds1.png

vagabonds2.png

Salt really ties the whole story together - with all that pressure, no wonder he wants to Vagabond away! ;)

Can't wait to see what twist you're going to bring to season 2!

That's an awesome diagram you made there - I did one (pen on paper, will scan it if you want!) and realized Salt had two mothers. So I knew I had a plot twist to go on immediately :D

Whoah, really impressive, hahaha

And, yep, I was initially going to write the story with every character telling their own bit, but it's really Salt tying it all together, so that's where I went as well :D

Vagabonds II has just started, and I think I managed to incorporate of few of your ideas - but not immediately... I have a slightly adapted - still random and fun, I hope - system, but I'll be bringing everything together in Phase II of it. Stay tuned, let's play!

That's an awesome diagram you made there - I did one (pen on paper, will scan it if you want!)
-> thanks! it was easy to do as I use the necessary software for work hehe. i'd be really interested in seeing how yours came out, it's always interesting comparing different layouts of the same network. and as you're linking the different series together, it will be interesting to map the connections as they're created.

I was initially going to write the story with every character telling their own bit
-> I was expecting that at first too but your storyline was a proper bucket of laughs! and salt is the ideal vagabond to focus the story on - globetrotter, two mothers, doubts around his relation to arlington, it's like a gypsy version of the kardashians! I'm sure you'll manage to whip something tasty up for Phase II of this epic tale :D

Vagabonds II has just started
-> whoop whoop! onto the serious business now! :)

Think I beat my comment record too there haha. And no worries about the delay I do the same! :)

Yes please, another game would be great :) I liked the game as you designed it and will follow your lead on the next game. Thank you for the payouts. They were an unexpected bonus :)

I am very happy and like the game You share, @marty-art, hope the future is better, and hopefully everything will be better and go forward again, keep the spirit !!

Thanks @mellwe, although that sounds as if things now aren't all that great. Sure, it can only get better but I'm quite happy here & now :)
Thanks for playing along, keep an eye out for the next series!

  1. pssssssst... don't blow the cover!

  2. I vote yes... YES YES YES... there has to be another one, this was immensely entertaining!

  3. @idontblameya either for wanting some recognition... this was not only incredibly entertaining for us all and a good bit of work for you... this was also quite a lucrative game for everyone who played along. I actually made a solid 0.862 SBD throughout my 6 entries... wait hold on... I've only received a payment for 5 ?!?! waiiiiit a second :P

P.S.: yeah ... waiiiiit a second ... who won episode 8?

Hehehe,

  1. I already blew the cover, it's out there, somewhere on the blockchain!

  2. Thanks, thanks, thanks! With a little more votes from other players, I will make Series II!

  3. and PS. Nobody won episode 8 yet! It's still running a little longer - there's no rush now that it's ended :) An update will follow fersher!

  4. Almost 1 SBD in total? I had no idea, let's hope it skyrockets once more! :D

there's no rush now that it's ended

yeah there is... we need to know how the circle closes!

... P.S.:

there's some weird stuff going on... these Vagabonds man.

Or maybe @richq11 just wanted to show off, that's possible, too I guess

Only @richq11 can pull that off!

I'll close the circle later today, didn't realize you were all so desperate!

i think the blockchain is trying to tell us something. eleventeen million doesn't just appear out of nowhere, you might be the chosen one @fraenk (or it might be richq11..)

no... I think destiny is trying to speak to me, but maybe I have to relay the message to @richq11:

...and then the clock struck midnight!

hahaha that is too many coincidences for it just be....a coincidence ;p

A big YES to another season please!

Thanks! Will definately do, glad everybody had fun :D