💧WATER-ART - Create your own original watercolor sketchbook - tutorial

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi friends, today I made my first watercolor sketchbook. It was fun to make, so I told myself it would be nice to share it with you :) I have already created one notes, but this time I used different technique for sews, cover and also the paper quality is not the same.

If you want to practice watercolors you can buy watercolor blocks, or sketchbooks, but they can be more expensive. I wanted something original, so maybe you would like too.

2018-04-08 (17).png

You will need

  • watercolor papers (I used Fabriano 35,5x51cm cold pressed block)
  • scissors
  • ruller
  • pencil
  • glue for paper + brush
  • decorative papers 2xA4 (glossy surface is better)
  • embroidery thread (color you want)
  • needle

The process

🔵 First you need to prepare the pages. I just folded a few papers and cut them half. They should have the same size, so maybe you will need to cut the edges a bit to achieve nice straight look.

2018-04-08 (15).png

🔵 Now make holes. Use a ruller to set them in the right distance and make straight lines. Then use a needle. There should be even number of holes for easy sewing.

2018-04-08 (9).png

🔵 We should work on a cover now. It should be made out of some hard carboard. I used a back side of my paper block. Make sure to measure it precisely according to the pages. You can add a few milimeters, so the cover will be bigger.

2018-04-08 (8).png

🔵 Prepare the decorative papers. You can put the cardboard in the middle and draw a line around it, so it will be easier for you to stick it right. Cover one side of the cardboard with a glue and put it on the paper. Push on it to make sure it will stick on every part. Do the same thing with the second part of the cover. Then fold the rest of the paper around the cardboards corners and use a glue.

If you want, you can use another paper in different color for one edge like I did. I used 6cm wide black stripes for it.

2018-04-08 (10).png

🔵 After we need to hide those ugly edges. I used harder white paper and cut it into the pages size and sticked it in the middle.

2018-04-08 (14).png

🔵 The cover should also have holes, so we will make them according to the pages. They can be 1cm from the edge. Now sewing. For this part I recommend you this video tutorial. It will be easier for you to follow the instructions.

You can use embroidery thread for sewing. It will look nice and also solid.

2018-04-08 (11).png

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

🔵 It is done! Now just fill it with paintings :)

2018-04-08 (16).png

Hope you guys enjoyed this tutorial and get some inspiration!

 

Thanks for watching!

 

If you want to recieve all posts from our Water art project, be free to follow @water-art.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this! I am going to make one.

This is just fantastic @marty-arts :) All time i am doing watercolors never thought of making my own sketch book. Now I will! Love how you are handy with crafts, you do have ''hands of gold'' girl :)

This is awesome!! I may do this sometime soon!

Love, I haven't made my own journal/sketch book in years. I think you've inspired me to make a new one!