Day two of painting the portrait - original oil painting by @mayasky

in #art6 years ago

Hello fine people!

Today I'm going to share the updates of my latest portrait painting.

Logopit_1519845688248.jpg

To the left is the painting as I left it yesterday and to the right is the painting after today's session. The painting measures 20 x 30 cm and was painted on gesso primed panel.

So today I focused on pumping up the light effect and get more temperature shifts in the lightshape.

IMG_20180228_190422.jpg

This is the painting as I left it yesterday. It's got a first layer general colors and values. After coming back to it today I felt like the skincolor was too orange and the shadows needed to be darker.

IMG_20180228_190546.jpg

The first thing I did was go in with a thin brush and lay inn some notes of darker value. This was to set a contstent for my self and the rest of the values I will put in later. Now I know what my darkest dark is so I can relate that to the other values to make the best possible light effect.

IMG_20180228_190716.jpg

Then I went in with some cooler halftones and highlights to establish how much lighter I could go. At this point it does look like they are very cool because of the orangy tones in the skin. Fear not, that impression will go away soon!

IMG_20180228_190824.jpg

Here I have covered most of the light form with my new values and color temperatures. I've also started to put in some darker tones in the shadows. Now I'm going to work a bit more on the features and bringing the light and darks together through modeling the halftones.

IMG_20180228_190947.jpg

So now I'm starting to work a bit more on the features. I'm adding in some darker values and working with smaller brushes to model the form

IMG_20180228_191154.jpg

The process is moving forward, I'm softening edges and modeling more form.

IMG_20180228_191323.jpg

I decided to add in the neck and chest area. I was a bit in doubt, but I thought, why not?

IMG_20180228_191748.jpg

And here is where I ended up after today's session! 😊 There still are things I want to solve and hopefully I will get time to do that tomorrow!

Like, I still feel like the painting needs to come more together as a whole and I think a lot of the edges till can be smoother..

This painting turned out to be a lot of fun so far which was a happy surprise! It was a spontaneous decision to start it yesterday and I think it was just what I needed to just let loose and have some fun with my oil paints.

What do you think?

I hope you are all having a wonderful and creative day! 😊

❤💜💙💚💛

Sort:  

AHHH SO NICE!! Had to drop you a follow :)

Thank you SO very much @joxus!! I appreciate it! 🙏😊🌸

I like your post
The painting beatiful very good

Thank you so much @safirhannany!! 😊😊

You're welcome, bro
I'm new in stimeet kak help me ya brother See my post

Es hermoso! Tienes mi voto

Muito obrigada @soulofthoughts!! 🌸🙏

Awesome

Thank you! :D

Hermoso rostro, muy realista, sutil en líneas, delicadeza en el difuminado, proporción idónea que completa el perfecto trabajo de arte, Felicidades. Me encantó. Te seguiré y si deseas me sigues y compartiremos arte.

Muito obrigado @artemacarre, por seus cumprimentos! Vou dar uma olhada em suas postagens! Obrigado mais uma vez!

Love to watch your process of searching right moments on painting @mayasky, thank you again and again for sharing.

Aw, my great pleasure @jungwatercolor!! Thank you again and again also for taking the time to read and comment! I so appreciate your support! ❤🙏

Your instincts to add a layer of cooler tones were correct because her skin looks beautiful. I’ve never tried oil painting so it was interesting to see your progress shots, it looks like a lot of fun. I also think it’s amazing that you were able to create this spontaneously, you’re so skilled!

Thank you so much for your compliments and for taking the time to read and comment @vermillionfox! ❤Oil paint is a lot of fun indeed! 😊 You should for sure give it a go! 😉

I wish I had something smart or witty to say about this so it doesn't look like 'one of those steemit comments' but honestly I'm just amazed at how beautiful this is!!😮❤

Awww.. That means a lot though, @purplevision! 😊 Thank you so much!

Really nice portret! And the tutorial goes well! :)
Have fun! :)

Thank you very much @mazerschi! :)

You are really creative. Its an amazing oil painting.

Thank you so much @mrblinddraw! :)

Wow, I thought she was looking beautiful after your first session, but the cooler tones, and higher contrast are really bringing things together! It's amazing to see the side-by-side. Can't wait to see how this piece continues to develop.