Female nude sculpture, work in progress your input appreciated

in #art6 years ago


Some of you probably saw many of my previous works here on Steemit. Most of them are based on well-known characters from popular culture, turned into custom toy or engagement ring box. They were my entry drug into sculpting. I started with modifying existing toys or sculpting them from scratch.


I was slowly getting better in that so started looking for new challenges. I think sculpting realistic human would be something more complicated so I started going to workshop where we sculpt real woman, 10x 2hour sessions per pose. This one is still work in progress. After 10 weeks I took it home and started correcting places which look strange. Each time I see it in the photo, I discover details I am not happy with. It will probably take many more hours to finish this piece to the level I desire.


This figure is made of medium Chavant oil based clay on aluminum wire armature. It allows for better detail than water- based clay what makes the process slower.


I look at this pose and trying to figure what could I do to make it more interesting. I had the temptation to turn her into Princess Leia at some stage but the body and short hair of the model inspire me to make her a Viking warrior (that is probably influence of new episodes of Vikings now airing :) The recent post by @beanz reminded me about Irish pirate Grace O'Malley I read about a few years ago when looking for inspiration for a character. What do you think? should I modify her, put some clothes and go in direction of strong and sexy Irish heroine ? :) Let me know what you think, or if you have any suggestion where should I go with my progress?

Sort:  

wauw insane! That looks so amazing!

Thanks. Wait for the finished piece, I will post it here. It still needs a lot of work.

@mitchhunter - what about a 'modern' twist? I think it would be interesting to leave some clues/hints (the same way that WestWorld does) about whether this figure is 'human' or not...

Wow, the Westworld idea solves my feeling that she is still in uncanny valley territory. Her face is not yet finished, she looks like android with power off :) Westworld was amazing, why didn't I think about this? Thanks for this suggestion!

Glad to help :) I am sure it will be quite amazing when it is finished, like all your other models!

i love this idea!

Thanks! Your introduceyourself post was fascinating... I will be following your steemit journey with much interest :)

She doesn't need clothes to be a strong and sexy Irish heroine lol. I appreciate nude art like this because there is nothing cliché and provocative about the posture or pose. Grace O'Malley did cut off her hair but that was at around age 13 lol. And this lady looks more mature.

She will probably stay nude for one version :) Her hair and face will require a lot more work. I really like the image you included in your post. Her hair and face is perfect there. I didn't have influence about this pose, it was decided by organizer of our sculpting club but I liked it. Just thinking if I could give some more meaning to the whole sculpture before I will spend many hours building mold and casting it in resin or bronze.

Hi there....I voted some of your posts(about 30 people are following my vote so you got 30 votes)....the people that vote me have low votes so the rules are they have to follow my vote...as you have an higher vote, I would just ask you to set up your bot to automatically vote my posts(I don't post much, I made 3 posts in the last 2 weeks...all the best)

Thanks! That was very cool of you! :) That is explaining the numbers on this post. Will be checking your posts. Followed you

Wow stunning. Really good job!!

Thanks!. Compliment from the artist counts double ;)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

You got a 30.92% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @mitchhunter!

this is amazing! I love the attention to detail! re-steemed :)

Thanks a lot. I hope when I finish, it will look much better. I want to go through the whole process of casting it in bronze, but I must be happy with the sculpt first.

This post has received a 61.82% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @mitchhunter. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This wonderful post has received a @mitchhunter 32.06% upvote from @mrswhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg Be sure to vote for witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

This is masterpiece! Leave it like this, she is perfect.

Hey there ! I love it so much , it reminds me of "La Toilette" / "Rousse" by Toulouse Lautrec at the Musee D'Orsay in Paris . Great Job!

Here is the canvas I am referring to

Yes, I can see that it could look like this painting. The legs are slightly different but I could use it as reference if I decide to paint the cast. Thanks for suggestion.

No worry! great work once again :)