A Stanley-Kubrick-Inspired Cake by My Momma

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

It was my brother's birthday yesterday, and being a huge Stanley Kubrick fan that he is, my momma surprised him with a cake inspired by Stanley Kubrick's movie adaptation of A Clockwork Orange! Cake design is derived from this original poster sourced from Google:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

She made this cake for 4 hours and all the labor was definitely worth it. Still couldn't get enough of how pretty and adorable this birthday cake is (AND WAIT TIL YOU TASTE IT ALSO!). It's been a day late, still-- Happy birthday, Kuya! May you emulate the artistic ways of Stanley Kubrick! :)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

Okay your mom is amazing. Also, as you may have gathered, I sent a few people your way--I had written a post where I recommended a few good newbies I had come across, and you were one of them. :)

You'll have to forgive me for being nosy, but I peeked in your wallet, and it looks like you haven't been claiming your rewards. Make sure to do that so you can power up!

Aww, this just really warms my heart that someone actually believes in my art and passion. Thank you so much! :)

And about the wallet thing, I'm so glad you peeked into mine, I guess I never was so keen into checking my rewards, hahaha. I'm not around very often, so I'm still getting used to the ins and outs of Steemit. So thank you for reminding me! :)

Hoping to see more of your material in my feed :)

Hi @monicacope, @malloryblythe told me about a doctor who is also an artist (often they are musicians - it's an Asian thing I think...) so I had to drop by and see for myself :)

I have been interested in using art as a means to improve the mental health and well-being of people, much in the same way that we can use sports & exercise to improve our physical health (although I believe that they are very much connected).

Stanley Kubrick does tend to lean towards the darker side of sci-fi, but the cake with its bright colours and vibrant design makes you forget about just how disturbingly prophetic the message was :p

I am looking for siblings on Steemit and making a list, so if your brother has an account please let me know :)

https://steemit.com/makesteemitgreat-again/@fibrefox/grow-the-community-and-get-to-know-the-people-the-steemit-community-list-siblings

This is so amazing! I'm so happy we meet at a common goal of merging these 2 concepts-- art and health science. :)

I like your efforts of allowing the Steemit community to grow by sharing lists of siblings who use this platform. I hope to have my brother or my sister (as they are great artists as well!) join Steemit. Thank you! :)

I think you and your siblings would also be interested in @steemitph and @artguildph :)

That's very clever. It looks like a glitter version of the original poster. It doesn't look like an easy thing to do. She has considerable artistic skill.

Right? At mid-60s, she's still so artsy! :) Thanks!! :)

I feel like if I tried it, I'd end up doing one of those Pinterest fails!

Won't hurt if you try! :)

Awesome cake @monicacope! Your mum has talent - definitely a first in my book. I remember the movie - quite something in it's time. I hope the cake tasted good :)

Yeah, definitely a classic. :) Thanks @leighleigh! :)