The 20s: A Short Story

in #art7 years ago (edited)

It was once again the 20s.

Fortune had smiled her beautiful face once again. Parties with flapper girls and retro cocktails (the hipsters were doing their thing) were happening all around town.

The world had returned to its monochromatic, black and white mysterious self.

The ladies were wearing dresses and cute fashionable bows in their hair.

The gentlemen were in pinstripe suits, trench coats and fedoras.

Fedora.png

I was typing away on my typewriter app. It even made the classic "ca-ching" sound after you waved your hand over the screen's sensor.

In the background, the beautiful melodic voice of Michael Buble singing "You're My Everything" coming from my vinyl player. His voice filled all four corners of the room.

I was trying to meet a new hard deadline. You see, I had just gotten married and my wife working down the street at the new modeling agency (lucky I know).

She had finally left her last job which had been killing her for the past few years. It was hard to see the woman I loved talk to me about how terrible her shifts at work were.

But all of tears, anxiety and complaining were all done with. She had moved on.

My wife, though many times under much stress, makes the time to encourage me to follow my passions.

(Even luckier than y'all thought. Beauty, Intelligence and Heart. What else could any guy ask for?)

Honestly, her constant encouragement was the reason that I had this deadline.

My wife saw this advertisement for aspiring writers and artists and she texted me the link. For the past five years, I had worked low end, twiddle your thumbs kind of jobs, and so I decided I was going to take a chance at becoming what I'd always dreamed about: writing.

So I decided to submit one of my stories on the importance of athletes in 21st America. This lead to me being asked about a writer's position at the Writer's Block Company.

The article had gained so much popularity that the chief editor, Mr. Charles Jamieson, took a look. After a quick glance, he decided to put me on the spot. I was to write a follow up article and the kicker was I only had the next 24 hours to do so.

After many sleepless hours and multiple drafts of worthless crap, I had something that I felt I could be practically satisfied with.

The article impressed Mr. Jamieson to say the least. I now have my own full-time publishing deal with Writer's Block.

This was the day that people realized what I had known and dreamed about all along.

The 20s were in full swing.

The ladies were in their dresses and bows.

The gentlemen in their fedoras and pinstriped suits.

And I was pounding away at my typewriter app.

I was no longer a starving artist but a published author.

Sort:  

Beautiful imagery in this writing Brady. I love how you used a chiastic form of writing - that is hard to do.

You may think about using the tags, writing, blog, or fiction. They are popular ones and relevant to this material imo.

Congrats ! Good work! Keep on STEEMin

i enjoyed this. thanks for sharing

Thank you so muc

always welcome and do remember to always check my blog also and support too
happy steeming

Also, definitely need a picture my man.

How do I put a picture after I posted?

Congratulations @mrbradent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!