Documents His Own Depression In Dark Self-Portraits

in #art7 years ago

depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_12.jpgdepression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_06.jpgThe 21 year old photographer Edward Honaker was diagnosed with depression two years ago. Here in these photos he convey his emotions and feelings.

From Edward Honaker words “All I knew is that I became bad at the things I used to be good at, and I didn’t know why. Your mind is who you are, and when it doesn’t work properly, it’s scary. It’s kind of hard to feel any kind of emotion when you’re depressed, and I think good art can definitely move people.”
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_01.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_02.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_04.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_05.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_07.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_10.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_09.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_13.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_14.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_15.jpg
depression_self_portraits_by_edward_honaker_16.jpg

Sort:  

Such poignant images, he explains his experience beautifully and powerfully.

These are really striking. Great stuff

Very impressive and creative!

Deeply disturbing photographs. However, suffering from depression myself, I do identify. Medication is helping me a lot. In fact, medication is a lifeline. I also found new depths in my life after my rebirth in Christ and my daily walk with the Holy Spirit in the past few months. May the photographer, as well as you personally, find new hope and meaning in life. Walk with God. Upvoted.

The pond. The falling into water and bed! Wow. Honaker gets a Pirate salute.