DIY: Making Candles at Home

in #art5 years ago

In my previous blogs I have showcased my homemade Candles to you all. So today let me share with you "How to Make Candles at Home".

Making Candles is a very fun activity and also very easy.I have been making them since the past 2 years now and I feel it is also one stress buster activity for me. This particular hobby of mine really lifts up my spirits.
This is the lot that I made this time. More of Jelly wax candles have been made as I had some excess Jelly wax and I wanted to use that up first. Also it is easier to make one type in one lot.

Let me share with you the process of making home candles

Ingredients needed:

  • Wax - Here you can use normal Paraffin wax or Soy Wax or Bees Wax. Bees wax is a little expensive but the output of the Candles made from Beeswax and Soy wax are much better then the Paraffin wax.
  • Aroma Oils for fragrance
  • Thermometer
  • Color - Many people use Crayon wax but I have observed that the final output of the Candle comes very coarse when the crayon is used, so prefer to use liquid color.
  • Molds - These will depend on what shape you would need. You get silicon molds as well as you can also use the Plastic pastry molds or the more easier ones are to make them in a glass.
  • Candle Wicks
  • Sticks or any other suitable object to hold the wick
  • A small burner- It is advisable to have a small burner as you can settle down yourself in one place, else it gets little painful to work in the kitchen and also it gets messy. I prefer to sit on the floor in one place, gather all my ingredients and then work.

These are the few molds that I used this time; its a small Angel and a Doll. One needs to be careful with the heated wax and the ways in which the molds can be used. When I got these molds new I thought I could just join in and pour the wax. They did join but when I started pouring the wax it all dripped out from the side and also I was not prepared for it so in bargain burnt my hand with the heated wax. Now I fix them up together with some bands so that they don't fall apart.

In a small pan take the desired amount of wax and melt it. The correct temperature will be between 170 to 180 degrees which can be measured with the thermometer.
Once you have your wax melted you need to add the color and allow it to mix thoroughly with all the melted wax. Once the color is completely dissolved the aroma oil can be added. Approximately 10 to 12 drops for one candle. Do not add too much of oil else the candle will not set properly. This time I used my own Lemon infused oil which I made it last month at home. I have not yet burned the candles so I need to check how it has turned out.

Now prepare the molds and cups with the wick. The lower end of the wick can be dipped a little in the wax an fix it up in the cup. Like you will see in the picture below.

Once they dry up, then pour the wax slowly into the cup or molds, being careful that the sides are not messed up. For the cups I use the strainers to hold the wick straight. It's a one time investment, but if you are making it regularly it is worth it.

For the Silicon molds I use the sticks to hold the wick else they keep falling inside. You will also see here how I have sealed up the open molds what I mentioned before.

Once the wax is poured in the molds and cups allow them to dry. It normally takes around 2 hours to completely set. If you try to remove them in a hurry then it may not set properly. Allow it to dry in a cool place.

You may trim the wick as required, but do not make them very short. On burning if you feel the flame is too big then the wick can be trimmed up further.
And there we go, the candles are ready to be used.

Hope you all enjoyed the Candle making process with me 💗💗

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love;
May Crystals give you the Power"

My other blogs of Interest


"The Vibration of our Collective Consciousness; how does it impact us at an Individual Level?"
Conversations over Office Lunch Table
"Free Writeup.......Some Hilarious moments......"
"Travel Diaries - Hot Air Balloon ride experience in Dubai"
The 3 Most Important Words in MY Dictionary

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

Such a lovely idea to make our own candles. :) But I would soooo encourage you to NOT promote the use of GMO soy products (as in soy wax) which damage Mother Earth or paraffin, which is a proven carcinogen. Gorgeous, handmade beeswax candles purify the air and are worth every cent.

Let there be more beautiful beeswax candles in every home!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Omg, I never thought on these lines, but yes I need to be mindful. Thank you for sharing your advice

Would love to try, but some materials are hard to come by where I am

Ohhh. ya I can understand the challenges of the place.

These are beautiful! wow thank you for this wonderful post!

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!
Such a nice display of candles - so colorful! Question? What exactly is jello-wax? Thanks for sharing your process!

Did you know that Natural Medicine now has it's own token, rewarding natural healing and health wisdoms? You can check out our front end, www.naturalmedicine.io! If you've been involved in our community over the last year, check your wallets for tokens and stake them on Steem Engine to start curating with Lotuscoin!

Also our Preventative Medicine Wisdom Challenge is on with a chance to win up to 40 Steem AND Lotus Coin! Details Here
Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you.

20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Hey @porters, thank you for visit. Well Jello Wax is made of Resins and Mineral Oil, transparent wax. I love the look and feeling it gives to the candles.

Those candles look so cool.
I never thought about using chopsticks to hold up the wicks. I have a lot of those at home from ordering takeaway.

Thank you, I am glad you could take some idea from my post.

Hello, @nainaztengra! Thank you for sharing your awesome DIY/how-to article with the steem community. However, we've got a place for you where you can post similar articles and get rewarded fairly. Welcome to build-it

Build-it is a tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY and How-to contents on steemit.


The recommended tags required when creating a DIY artcle are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. You'll get rewarded with BUILD tokens upon every valid post/project which can also be exchanged for steem on steem-engine when you use any of the recommended tags as well as posting via our website.


Need help? Live technical support on Discord or Telegram

|


This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, click here to vote for us

Thank you for the reach out, I will surely have a look at the community and join.

You're highly welcome ;)