For the LOVE of #wood

in #art6 years ago (edited)

image



While taking a wood refinishing course, I found that it is not only satisfying but incredible to watch your own hands at work. My love for working with wood and my passion for recycling, was the initial drive to take the course. It was not only exciting to see the transformation of a damaged pool table transform into something extraordinary, it was amazing to be the one to do it!


IMG_3117


Day one was incredible! I was able to shed the damaged finish layer off, as the beautiful wood underneath was able to be seen again.


d1


Applying stripper is not the most eco friendly way to go, but it get's the job done.


IMG_3308


IMG_3398_1


With Cracks, Scratches, dents and pieces broken off, I am using what I learned to bring it back to it's original look.


IMG_3211_1


NLGJ4952_1


Wood putty is my favorite thing to work with. It can be applied to the smallest of scratches to the largest dents and holes that may be in your damaged piece of wood. However it will not work on an end or corner crack, it needs to attach itself to the and harden properly.


IMG_3316


IMG_3327


IMG_3343


Sometimes you have so much fun, that you don't even realize that it is getting dark.


IMG_4446_1