ANTicipation

in #art7 years ago

antswarthumb.jpg

Ant antics

I found a hive of activity going on in my garden around these globe shaped buds, in fact it was hard to find a peony bud or flower that didn't have an ant sitting on it. Ants are attracted to the sweet nectar that is secreted by peony buds via extrafloral nectaries.

antspeony.jpg

Some photos of the peony buds taken in May, before the flowers opened. There appears to be a bit of an ant party going on!

Ants have colonised almost every landmass on Earth. The only places lacking indigenous ants are Antarctica and a few remote or inhospitable islands. Ants thrive in most ecosystems and may form 15–25% of the terrestrial animal biomass. Their success in so many environments has been attributed to their social organisation and their ability to modify habitats, tap resources, and defend themselves.
Source Wikipedia

Drawings inspired by ants

June photos19.jpg

June photos20.jpg

Drawings made with pen and ink, and watercolours on paper.

antpeonysml.jpg

antswarsml.jpg

You will get to see these illustrations in the my upcoming story about the Rain Fairy and the ants, as part of my Collaborative Art Journey with @everlove.

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Your art is wonderful. I follow you now

Great to know, thank you very much @romangt87!

How many ants does it take to fill an apartment?

Tenants!

What do you call a 100 year old ant?

An antique!

What's the biggest ant in the world?

An elephant!

Okay... I'll stop there! ;-)

Did you google ant puns? I did too, but had to resist filling the post with them!

Ummm... maybe.... ;)

😉 What crazy ANTics!

Lovely ant... I mean art!

Hahaha 😊, glad you like them both!

What a wonderfulness !! this is the Jig-Ant-ic party in your garden ^_^

Great ant pun!!

I love the drawing a lot!
pastel galore!
and the ants are smooching?
Peonies are to have in one's garden!

My house is also full of them at the moment- and a few stray ants!

eek .. glad no ants have penetrated our house yet
they won't stand a chance of not being squished

I carry them out individually into the garden back to the other peonies.

you're very kind!
I dont mind them there as long as they're in the garden

indeed I am very contANTe (which mean "glad" in french) LoL another french pun =D

Lol! Loving these puns.

Wow great piece! Love those ants! Is this going to be linked to the raindrop fairy?!

Yes it is, just typing it up now - it's handwritten.

Very creative! I love how you took the real life image from your garden and made such a beautiful picture!

Thank you, I used one of my more current blooms to draw from- you can see it next to the paper and pencil. But i took these photographs last month before the peonies were opening in the garden, I thought it would make an interesting subject matter- and has in fact inspired a story too!

Antastic!

I am happy to visit your blog, lady @opheliafu, your work is beautiful, I really like the colors, thank you very much for this beautiful work

That's lovely, looks like they're having fun ;)

They are anticipating an argument.

Very lovely- thank you for sharing your step by step with us yet again.

Thank you for your comment, I think it's nice to show the process sometimes.

Those are so cute! <3

I never knew that the ants may be so damn cute:)

Yes! You should invite them into your house (they like cake).

Once I did:) They built special paths and stole sugar:)

Hahahah, they are cunning !

Hello my friend . Draw beautiful ants on flowers. Thanks for sharing Post

Please my friend I would like to get your support here your vote great honor
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mars9/steemit-the-idea-in-a-white-paper-was-published-in-march-2016-now-the-dream-is-coming-true

another wonderful drawing...thank u!

Glad you liked it @themevlog!

welcome :)

Very nice work! I like it.

Excellent! Thank you @ocrdu!

Beautiful piece

great work and i love the illustrations

Superb! Thank you @gigibgm

such a cool art style man. I want one for my wall!

That's a nice compliment, thanks!

You are talented, thanks for posting and sharing.

Happy to share my work! Thank you!!

Very beautiful! We saved the link to this post as a future reference to a Steem.center wiki article about Ants :-) Congratulations and good luck again!

😀I think your avatar may make you a little biased towards the post!!

These are amazingly cute drawings/paintings!

oh and in this post your inspiration

Ahh yes! Did you read the story first? The little ant got my mind working on a story, then when @everlove called for collaboration I decided to combine a rain fairy with the ant story.

Yes I read the story first with the illustrations

very neat

Thank you!

Wow gorgeous!

You have so much talent, I wish I could draw but I can't even draw a good stick man. :D

Thank you @frostyamber!

You're welcome. :D

OMG ..!!

Congratulations @opheliafu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wonderful! Thank you to remind me of my childhood and my mom's beautiful garden! I love peonies so much. They are as beautiful as roses but more natural and not this glamorous.