Drawing for Dwelling -Mioko's legs

in #art6 years ago (edited)

LEGSTH.png

Illustrations for Doug Karr's novel Dwelling

I was thrilled when @dougkarr sent me the manuscript for his novel Dwelling. I printed off the first few pages and eagerly began to scribble my ideas across the text. The more I read, the more visual pictures formed in my mind, and I hoped to capture some of these images through my ink drawings.

I made a few examples of portraits in different illustrative styles and sent them to Doug. I suggested 'slightly dirty paper (coffee stained/ ink splatter) with ink drawings (characters/scenes) in a dark style', and the more I read of the novel the more this seemed the right way to go. We agreed on the style. Keen to get to work on the illustrations I pulled out my drawing inks and dip pen, then I sat down at my drawing desk ready to create my first set of drawings for the novel Dwelling.

6inkmarks.png

She ruffled through old vertical files, the photographic evidence of her existence. A frenzied leap boosted her onto a chair. She fished the forgotten space above her closet. It had to be here somewhere.

@dougkarr Dwelling -CHAPTER ONE The Tenement

Drawing Mioko

Feb1829.jpg

The image of one of the novels characters Mioko standing on a chair. Sketched out in pencil then drawing ink applied with a dip pen.

Feb1830.jpg

Layers of water and ink are built up with a brush to suggest areas of shadow and light. The background is painted with darker ink tones to make the forefront stand out.

Feb1831.jpg

Mioko moved frantically about her apartment, her milky legs covered in Japanese horimono tattoos.

@dougkarr Dwelling -CHAPTER ONE The Tenement

3inkmarks.png

'Mioko's legs' -Ink on paper

7inkmarks.png

You can read the 1st chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!

Have a great day and Steem on!

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

I love seeing the process behind your fantastic artwork almost as much as I love collaborating with you on this project! Such a thrill to be working together!!

If only we could collaborate on cleaning up all the ink splattered across my drawing space ;D
I think this is going to be a messy and energetic series of work!

I’ll send my kids, they love messes!
Oh wait more making them than cleaning. I’ll train my kids better, then send them.

I'll just throw some glitter on it, then it will be a dazzling mess.

The two of the best, the best of the best I look up to on Steemit as an amateur writer and "A lost artist"...eagerly waiting for Chapter 2 @dougkarr

I like the design of the Japanese tattoos, you catch the feeling of them quite well with simple lines and the stained color palette. Great work as always and thanks for sharing :)

It was a little fiddly to draw the designs at that scale.

In that size it's an art to make it look like what it's supposed to look like without being too visible, so it won't take away the focus from the rest of the picture.

This is my far the most beautiful drawing that I saw! I make it my special painting for the World Woman Day!

Thank you for sharing your magnificent pieces!

xx
@elenahornfilm

That's very nice, thank you!

congratulations dear friend @opheliafu for this invitation, I love seeing the team work that is in the community.
The illustration is beautiful the style you have used looks great,
thank you very much dear friend for the gift that makes us daily

Thank you @jlufer, there will be many more illustrations in this series to share.

WOW...
This is an awesome photography. Its really amazing photo and also creative art. I really impressed your photography and art.

Amazing IMG_20170416_140225_647.jpg...my picture :)

I be partial to bearing in mind the procedure behind your fantastic artwork just about as greatly as I fondness collaborating with you on this project! Such a delight to be operational together!

An artist's feather! Beautiful drawing as usual @opheliafu

Very very nice art

What inspired you to start drawing, if you don't mind the question?

I've always drawn... maybe boredom inspired me!

Hi there @opheliafu , wow really liked your post see you on the next post

it's just an amazing eye catching art done by you!!!!!an artist with great skill an imagination power.thanks for shearing this @opheliafu

Very interesting post @opheliafu..
Already upvote and resteem, visit also my blog.

Beautiful illustration of the work done. Loved the tattoos..
Upvoted and Resteemed..

Great artwork. Thank you for your sharing.

I LOVE IT! @opheliafu, i want to make a draw with you :D

I love sketching and painting
Whenever i am free i do the same thing ...
Drawing any of novel character ...
Your work is awsum ..
Keep it up 😊

breathtaking result.

excellent work, waoooo greetings

Really cool!

The technique you applied looks amazing, ah! I guess they are tattoos the drawings on their legs, I love them!

Yes - Japanese horimono tattoos :D

very interesting drawing.It's really lots of fun to mostly communicate in a visual way and there are some great artists over there, that keep the doodles going.

Wow, I love your style :) Beautiful art! :)