Poppy Seed Heads

in #art7 years ago

poppydrawthumb.jpg

Drawing Poppy Seed Heads

I like to hear the rattle of the poppy seeds inside the poppy heads. I grow a couple of different varieties of poppies in my garden, the yellow poppies that I have shown you in more recent posts and a purple poppy. These are the seed heads from those purple poppies.

poppyphoto.jpg

The poppy heads start off green and as they dry they go a pale beige colour with hints of green, purple and blue, before eventually turning light brown.

poppy draw.jpg

I sketched out a couple of the older poppy seed heads using a pencil. The seed heads were still full of poppy seeds so they had a delightful rattle to them as I moved them around the page!
poppydrawn.jpg

I drew over the pencil lines with black drawing ink using a dip pen. Once the ink was dry I erased the pencil.
poppyinink.jpg

The next stage is to add watercolour, and I'll be posting about that soon!

Have a great day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

I admire your work dear friend @opheliafu, I really like what always makes something beautiful and novel, thank you very much for this beautiful work
Have a great day

Thank you @jlufer, happy you like today's drawing :D

@opheliafu looks amazing! Used to have some flowers that would do the same thing, and I spent many hours just taking them apart and spreading the seeds everywhere.

Great post

I've spent my morning doing just that!

Great painting you have a great talent

Thank you

I think i've never seen this seeds before.
I'm looking forward to observe the result.
Have a great day! :)

Thank you, I hope to share it soon!

We have no such flower in my region, I see they were really fun to draw!:) Hope to travel for plain air to dendro-park soon:) May be I'll find some there:)

No poppies? None? Oh no!

None at all:(

very nice! I thought I was going to be an artist when I was in high school. But I ended up in a trade.

Hi opheliafu, i think i like your sketch.but i didn't get is what poppy is used for.hope you can offer me an answer.thanks for sharing such a wonderful skill of your.keep it up.


Poppies are flowers.

Really love the way you used your space... Space management is one of the problems I encounter in my art.... @opheliafu

Naturally talented, thanks for the post

Driving on country roads I see fields with poppies!
Just an amazing sight!

So beautiful!

Congratulations for your drawing!

When I was drawing, a long time ago, my favorite part was the inking, because it feels like that way you give life to your art. One of the things I especially love about what you did there, are the small details you can observe if you look closely.

Really small details are the things that make a great drawing.

Congratulations again and best of luck!

Thank you very much. I used to use black drawing pens to apply ink, but recently I have moved over to more traditional dip pens

Wow, your sketches are so detailed. I'm new to sketching but enjoy drawing flowers and all botanical things but I've never sketched a poppy head. Thank you for some inspiration =D

hey upvoted and followed ! check my blog about cryptos :) follow for follow ?

The second picture made me think of a game I used to play called 'The Neverhood'.

But I like the drawing...

Wow that's an amazing drawing!!

Great drawing

love yeah give me a vote on comment thanks

Thank you for posting @opheliafu.

Lovely drawings with the pencil and ink of the seed heads of this ever fascinating flower from beginning to end.

Appreciate the details regarding the Poppy.

Wishing you and @cryptofunk all the best. Cheers.

So beautiful and very inspiring looking forward to see your colors

Did you formally learn how to draw (art works) or innate or both?.

A bit of both, but yes I have qualifications in art.

What's up from the U.S.
Following you and your poppies.

These look so awesome! love your art!