Soft grasses

in #art7 years ago

grasscolourthumb.jpg

Grasses

A variety of wild grasses is the subject of today's drawing. Rippling waves of grasses swaying in the breeze is a wonderful sight, and on closer observation these grasses come in a magnificent variety of shapes and colours.

June photos21.jpg

Drawing in ink

June photos22.jpg

Drawn using black drawing ink and applying it with a dip pen.

June photos23.jpg

grassink.jpg

Adding watercolours

June photos24.jpg

grasscolour.jpg

'Soft grasses' 2017

Watercolours and drawing ink on paper

It's amazing the details you can see in nature when you stop and take the time to look!

Sort:  

OK, you did it:) You made me to return to ink and stop digitalizing for a while:) Now all my hands are black, ha-ha:)
Gorgeous art, as always!:)

I always have inky fingers, lol! That's why I've got nail varnish on- hides the ink stains!

Belive or not - I odered a lamp for fixing varnish at home today:) Exaclty for this reason. So I hope tomorrow I'll give it a test-drive:) It's just I alone can deal with my hands, so I do manicure myself, thouse need instant washing;)

Dark blue varnish comes in handy for covering black ink on the nails.

I took it into account;)

"It's amazing the details you can see in nature when you stop and take the time to look!" And it is also amazing to look at your details in your beautiful art; that is why I stop and take the time to look at your blogs every day.

Wonderful, that's nice to know! I try to post everyday too :D

So beauitful Ophelia!!!! I just want to roll around in your grasses!

I hope you don't have hay fever! Achhoo!

These are really beautiful. You have a delicate and authentic artistic touch that really does something for the soul, even in something so simple. Have you ever thought of illustrating children's books?

It has been mentioned on here a few times, it think I would need to find the right story- or write the right story!

Well, definitely take it as a compliment! You're wonderful :). Maybe I can write the story lol. Mostly just a songwriter and poet for now (got a couple of videos up already! It's such an easy platform for getting involved..)

Oh yes, lots to get involved in and great dialogue on Steemit!

I love your power of inspiration, congratulations for this beautiful and delicate work, lady @opheliafu
have a beautiful day

Ah yes, my special super power ;D

Gorgeous! Grasses are so underappreciated - - just mowed down, usually. I like letting my grass grow, so I can see the rippling waves in the breeze. Most years, at this time of year, I identify 14 different kinds of grasses. The one on the left in your top photo-pair is one of them. It comes up with such a fluffiness and a soft pink. Your drawings of the grasses really capture their differences, too. Grasses are so varied -- but some are hard to identify, lol. Enjoy your grasses!

I'm VERY glad you liked this post, I did have a look to see if I could identify the grasses but I wasn't 100% sure of them. I finally mowed my lawn this week, it was looking nice and wild! However, I raised the mower blades so that it didn't damage the clover flowers- the bees love them!

Grasses are hard to identify sometimes. Some are easy, but others take looking so closely at the flowers. And there's a lot of technical terminology in the field guides! It can be maddening. It's more relaxing to enjoy their beauty, for sure!

There is so much going on in a lawn. We all have to mow sometime, but it's nice you could keep the clover and bees happy! :D

Great subtle work Ophelia. What always gets me with watercolor is the transparencies, loving how youve applied the technique at the bottom of the composition. That fading into yellow adds an entirely different mood 😍💕💕

You are very observant! I felt they needed grounding, but I didn't want to use a heavy line.

That grass reminds me of stuff in the field back in Indiana. I would grab it and it would sort of pull away from the outside of the stem and then I would chew on it and it would be tender. Yeah...I'm sort of a hillbilly!

Ok, that's a new side to you! Cliff jumping grass chewer!

this is cool! i love it x
your posts are definitely resteem worthy!

Very kind, thank you!

I love pen and ink drawings. I used to do a lot, and I think maybe now is the time to start again.
Your grasses drawings are beautiful.

Fantastic idea, pick up that ink pen again!

Your pictures are so soft I have forgotten my grass allergies

Oh good, you don't want to sneeze on your computer screen!

You my friend have been gifted with a special skill. I love those drawings keep up the good art! Im following you :)

Excellent, thank you !

Nice l really like how you show the stages of your work.

Thank you @luckyfellow, i'm glad you like the format of my posts :D

Amazing @opheliafu
You paint it, it looks real with the original

I try to use a splash of magic in my paint for that!

Loved these. We tend to overlook the small things.

Yes, if we don't make the time to observe them.

I should really take some time to do this. Drawing from life has always been something I put off until I have to, but you make it look so fun and relaxing. Thanks for sharing!

Definitely, find the time to do it.

These are beautiful and well done! This makes me want to try watercolors again! Lately I've been painting with ink wash but it is difficult to blend. Time to switch it up!

Yes, give them a try again :D

Loved the entire process!

Awesome, thank you

You make grass look magical. :)

what I admire most is the combination of colors, use of space and natural look. This is a good artistic work, keep it up

Thank you for that comment @charles1. It's great to know what you enjoy about the work.

you are welcome @opheliafu. Following you in order to read from you..lets stay in touch.

you're very good at replicating natures details

Thank you!

It look like rice plantation. I love it good job 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

I have never seen one up close- but now I'm tempted!

I used to pull the seeds off these and throw them like confetti when I was younger

That sounds fun- maybe I'll give that a try next time. Though knowing my luck I would get a grass seed stuck in my eye!

I'm getting inspired to try watercolors again. It's so nice to see how you incorporate nature in your art.

Are you using markers at the moment?

Yes, I've only tried watercolors a handful of times. But I find it so hard, so I keep going back to copic markers.

So talented, I wish I had an eye for this. Great work, I love it :-)

Thank you very much, that's kind.

Wow, which ink is this?
Great work @opheliafu !

Indian drawing ink

I love your art, very soothing to look at.

v nice upvoted

Awesome, thank you!