@polebird: ❤️ Calligraphy for @karensuestudio's Life of the Wild Adult coloring book ❤️

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My sister @karensuestudios published a whimsical adult coloring book called Life of the Wild on AMAZON link here . I'm excited to share with you my small part in the project. Karen knew that one of my new hobbies at the time that I had picked up was lettering and calligraphy!

save-new.JPG

After we discussed naming her coloring book, it was off to the drawing (or should I say writing) board for me with the design of the name for the book cover. There were quite a few trial and errors, but the two below were our favorite styles we were considering for the final product.

IMG_5810.jpg
IMG_6609.JPG

We ended up going with the style pictured above. The next step after finishing with the actual calligraphy was scanning the image in and cleaning it up as a digital image that could be used for the cover in photoshop.

IMG_6728.JPG

I was really proud of @karensuestudios when the full project was completed. It took over a year to finish all the drawings for the book, and they are quite beautiful to color in.

IMG_6753.JPG

IMG_6764.JPG

Here is Joey looking at his portrait from the coloring book.

Thanks for stopping by and reading! Any other Steemians with interest in the art of calligraphy and lettering?

IMG_7400 2.JPG

Love,
JESS

P.S. You can check out her fabulous coloring book on Amazon ! Thanks for all your support lovelies!

Sort:  

How inspiring! Absolutely gorgeous work by both of you! I have always been interested in calligraphy and illustration but have never tried it... I'm really much more of a messy artist haha.
beautiful post, thank you for sharing!

awww thank you! Love all sorts of art -messy included, thank you for stopping by and for the kind words!

@caitycat - you're a messy artist too?! Going to have to check out your work now ☺

Those drawings are very nice, this should be a very nice gift for my daughter (age 17) which she loves coloring , thank you!! I'm sure you"ll get rewarded nicely for your hard work!!

awww thank you! I hope she enjoys the book, I have had a lot of fun coloring my own copy as well :D

You two remind me of my brother and I. Both super creative and supportive of each other. I love it when I recognize this awesome dynamic duo in others!

And my god, your sister is quite the artist. Truly phenomenal work here.

@happyolly you pop into my mind as someone who would be into stuff like this!

Y'all shine so hard on here. So happy that I discovered you guys!

awww thank you! Yeah we have a lot of fun together, and kind of keep each other challenged in various things too I think hahah. Her art is amazing :) so glad to hear you are enjoying our blogs, thanks for the kind words!

Nice work, I will have my copy soon.

aw yay! can't wait to see what you think of it :) coloring is very relaxing

You definitely will see it soon.

Any other Steemians with interest in the art of calligraphy and lettering?

YES! Calligraphy and lettering are fun addictive activities. I have countless pages of practice letters.

This coloring book is really cute. A year's worth of time well spent!

:D She has quite the artistic talent! That's awesome you do calligraphy - how long have you been doing it for? I've done quite a few little projects here and there as well, I want to post more about them in the future. Would love to see your work

I first started with the basics about five years ago with an inexpensive pen and nib set and the book Learn Calligraphy by the renowned Margaret Shepherd.

In the last year or so I've been trying my hand at brush lettering. I find it more appealing than calligraphy because it's less formal and more organic looking.

Ditto, I would love to see more of your work as well! I've made a few lettering posts in the past, and I'm sure there's more to come. ☺

ooooo yes! brush lettering is beautiful, I bet its alot more difficult to handle than a nib.. the only encounter I have had with it in the past is doing chinese calligraphy back in elementary/middle school and it sure wasn't great:P

Lol, the brush is a lot of fun once it becomes comfortable! When you get the opportunity, I suggest giving it another go. Personally, I like using a water brush for hand lettering because there's no dipping or re-wetting required. However, their smaller size could be considered a drawback (I haven't seen any water brushes bigger than size ~10 or ~12). Anyway, y'all take care - Happy Monday!! :D

thank you!! It looks really cool, and people get great results - will do so!! :)

Nice artwork 👌 Keep it up!

Awesome !! very unusual and beautiful!)

Thank you! Glad you like it :)

This is beautiful! Then you are not only artist on a pole but also with a pen. Fantastic! :)

haha thank you! that cracked me up :D

wow awesome

thank you very much!

Nice post :)

I'm proud of you, keep on working.
Not my intention to beg, but if you please please upvote my post as well. Nothing wrong if we support each other. I know if you are a good person and help each other: )
my support let me add the spirit :)
I wait your presence in my post :) @polebird

https://steemit.com/aceh/@mahyul/jalan-jalan-ke-waduk-jelekat-lhokseumawe-8edd295ed6fc1

You both are amazing...
I loved the calligraphy when I had a first look at the book, and I am so glad to know about your contribution:)

hehhehe thanks! that makes me happy to hear that @xabi! Glad to tell a little bit of the behind the scenes

Looks really cool and fun to color! How many pages ended up having?