Getting out painting in the Welsh wilds PLEIN-AIR

in #art6 years ago

Getting out there with my portable painting setup. The easel, paints & everything all fitting into a rucksack. This is my first painting with the new setup and my first painted Plein Air (outdoors on location) of 2018. I actually got rained off before I could finish it but then that's Wales for you!!

A lot of fun being out there in the elements and it adds something to the whole experience.

IMG_20180401_180544_577.jpg

Started out with the 10"x12" canvas board primed with orange acrylic. Although this altered the colours quite a lot I deliberately left a lot of areas with the orange showing through and it's resulted in a vibrant colourful end result. I did intend tightening the whole thing up with a smaller brush and putting some details in but then the rains came down!

Oh well, next time...

Sort:  

priming the canvas orange was a boss move

Glad you like it. The colours went off a bit with such a bright colour shining through but it does tie the whole finished painting together.

Nice work, its good to see other plein air artists here on steemit 😊 🎨

Thanks, much appreciated. My outdoor setup is still very much a work in progress but I feel like I've got the bug again now.