WEEK #3: Painting my New Room

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! It's been a while. I've been putting a lot of time into personal matters and one of them was setting aside hours to paint my new room!

Initially, the room was painted green by the previous inhabitant (looks teal in the pic), and it made the whole room very dark and small. I didn't get to snap a picture of the room before the painting began. Please excuse all the mess of moving boxes!

I decided to dedicate one whole wall to painting distant mountains. After painting white over the green to prime, I used a sharpie marker to divide the different colors I'd be painting. I drew perpendicular lines along the marks I didn't like and wanted to disregard.

At first I mixed white with pink, then added more pink and after that, degrees of gray. I've always lived in an apartment where I'm not allowed to paint the walls so this was my first time with such a project, and things got really, really messy...

I added degrees of dark navy to the pinkish-gray mixture for the mountains closer to the foreground. I used this angled brush to follow my sharpie lines as precisely as I could.

This was the final result! Since I kept mixing paints in the same tin, I was unable to give second coats to each color so you can see brushstrokes all over the wall. I spent the whole night on these mountains because I tend to be really slow and meticulous.

I was glad to wake up to sunlight on the new wall! It really brings out the colors I couldn't see while I was painting at night.

Even if I'll be moving in the next few years, I think it's very important to create a space you enjoy and can relax in. Now that the room has much lighter colors on its walls, the natural light from the window can bounce off of them and brighten the whole space. This makes it feel more "open" and perhaps fool the mind into thinking it's just a little larger than it is (or was).


banner illustration by: @orenisme