Work - Part I: the Beach

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I started a project for an exhibit at a local visitors center. Often I can use pieces that I’ve already cut, or leftover scraps from old projects, but I realized fairly quickly into work that in this case I was going to need new shells. Since I was basically starting from scratch, I got it into my head to photograph the process; start to finish.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned; I’m a single mother to three brilliant, wild, curious boys, who have been home with me all summer. Two of them are five, and the third is six; they’re still fairly little, and as such, are never far when I’m working. Luckily, most of what I do can easily accommodate tiny wild people.

So work began, as usual, at the beach!

52E71244-E58C-4DEB-84DD-4CC8C18E26F3.jpeg

In between splashing and swimming, the boys helped out by using their toes to feel for quahog shells in the sand.

1AFAC6A7-DA0F-48B6-86E5-4A9220F9FE8B.jpeg

We swam for less than an hour. It was both rejuvenating and exhausting; sleep has been in short supply, lately, and by the time my sack was heavy with shells, we were all ready to head home.