You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's behind the curtains

in #art4 years ago

I remember there being some kerfuffle a hundred million years ago about photographers using the art tag, the non-photographers felt like they were being buried under the photos (there were a lot).

Then there's the debacle about whether snapshots (like selfies or the kind you'd take of your family and friends and pets messing around the the lulz or the memories) should be considered photography never mind art.

Now there's another can of worms to go with your can of worms post x_x lol

Screenshot_20200504_172224.png

On the referencing, I think if you're using one image for whatever reason (base for overpainting, drawing from reference, etc) then crediting is at least polite if nothing else. It gets slightly more insane when you're photobashing (that's grabbing various elements from numerous photos/references and smashing them together into one image and probably also overpainting it or at the very least editing it heavily for those who aren't sure) or have one of those mood/vision board things, and also starts to get to the point where it's fair use to merely influence.

Photography is often overlooked or belittled as FREE SHIT.

Seriously, who thinks that. +3 exasperation.

I was told that revealing the base photo can be like asking a magician to share their secret magic tricks.

That reads like a bit of an ego trip to me x_x but I have a strong preference to helping people where I can which is why I have process posts and progblogs (well that and if I didn't have the progblogs I'd be posting maybe monthly if I can stay on top of hs misc instead of weekly XD) so I guess I only kind of vaguely academically understand that mentality.

And meanwhile I think you made good use of the reference the nice photo provided to make a great drawing. The pointy legs/possibly non-existent feet of the character with all those robey clothes have very Journey vibes XD

Sort:  

hahah yeah, there are A LOT of facets in a community, specially a multi-discipline one like "ART" cuz it's such a HUGE umbrelly

I mean, the art of writing is often very much treated separately than the visual art mediums, same with performing arts, and music, and cinemas. But let's not open too many rabbit holes XD

I do think CASUAL photography can be overwhelmingly accessible these days, since every one has access to a phone (and therefore a camera) but then again CASUAL art is.... NOT that inaccessible either. Lots of people can just pick up a pencil and draw. But maybe more have the reluctance not to just post their silly doodles online? Mmm. Silly doodles are really almost as easy to make as selfies, I think, in terms of difficulty?

To be fair, the tag #art does not really belong to only illustrators and painters, but people just CRAVE to be more visible so I understand why there were a kerfuffle about pushing photography out as the amount of contents can drown out what the illustrators / painters bring, but what's wrong with using #drawing or #illustration to be visible at, instead? :O

(I love your drawing of that can of worms, btw, it has such the same energy as RELEASE THE KRAKEN!!! XD)

Photobashing is a legit technique in which the artist brings more of themselves into the work. It's like the artist are preparing MANY ingredients to make a cake. It's *different * to just using **one **photograph to work off, I think...?

Like, even taking a portrait photography that looks good is pretty hard, so if a portrait artist wants to use a photographer's pretty photograph to work on, it's just good form to give some credits back to the photographer... in my opinion!

Cuz like, photographers need some social media visibility too, and an artist who rely on a single primary photograph can support each other by giving shout out back to the photographer's name. This way, the photographer's work and brand is being boosted through the artist's work, as well. Lots of my photographer friends struggle with getting orders or to get noticed online!

And hahah, APPARENTLY, lots of illustrators and painters who does portrait work thinks that a study doesnt need to be cited, fyn. Which is fine, I think, if the photos are their own, or if the photos are free to use. But to come across a portrait photography that looks "nice" and then to use it as a base for your works without giving back gave me pause.

I am like you, in the way that I do not mind showing others my whole process, from the beginning to the end. That's why I often share my process shots or these days, even the entire video of the drawing (since my bestie bought me a video editing app :D) but I think, maybe you and i are not the majority XD Most artists are protective of the glamour (for lack of better words) of their artistry. Which is totally understandable. This is a very human and very relatable feeling, but we should also empathize with the artistry and the value of 'tools' that helped us along the way. Pretty photography is not achieved easily and to treat it without giving back some acknowledgement is a little selfish by my standard...

Like, you wanna make a pretty art, but you dont wanna acknowledge the pretty photograph that helped you make that pretty art? Like why not????

(also your prog blogs are great and im happy that they help you produce some consistent weekly updates ! you are a pathological perfectionist XD)

And finally, thank you ! I like to insert a bit of myself into my arts ... it's the story teller in me, I guess :D

People do use drawing and illustration and painting tags and sometimes in the case of digital art program tags as well, think the general argument there was that most people will look at "art" which is true, and because it's such a big brolly there definitely shouldn't be any genres exluded.

Writing is most definitely an art but at least the writing and fiction tags are usually broad enough that they won't be lacking for audience XD

or at least an audience capable of reading anything longer that a twit

Maybe it should have been a can of wyrms? ;D

Pretty photography is not achieved easily and to treat it without giving back some acknowledgement is a little selfish by my standard...

Like, you wanna make a pretty art, but you dont wanna acknowledge the pretty photograph that helped you make that pretty art? Like why not????

You would think, but some people don't -_-

you are a pathological perfectionist XD

PFFFFFFFT I'm adopting that because it's true x_x lol XD

I like to insert a bit of myself into my arts

I like it better when you (collective "you" as in everyone not just you personally) do, because it makes it better. I'll always prefer the "worse" drawing with something going on than the technically brilliant drawing that's just technically brilliant :)